AIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the Courts
Need More Help?
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask-An-Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Librarians Contact Information
Government Documents
Federal, Arizona and local government documents
Brad Vogus 602-543-5525
Fletcher Library on the West Valley campus
How to cite government documents
Law Library, Indian Law
Law Library http://www.law.asu.edu/library
Law Library David Gay 480-965-4860
General Reference Staff 480-965-6144
Recommended Research Databases
- American Indian History OnlineOnline encyclopedia which contains full text court cases, definitions and examples.
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, legal opinions and journals
- Hein Online The Modern Link to Legal HistoryIncludes collection of legal periodicals.
- JSTORThis database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
- Project MUSEProvides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism,history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Proquest Congressional1789-present. ProQuest Congressional provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.
Useful Websites
- Find Law Cases and CodesFindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws.
- Indian Affiars Laws and TreatiesIndian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes.
- Indigenous Law PortalThe Indigenous Law Portal (ILP) was taken on by the Law Library of Congress staff as a way to provide access to American and Canadian indigenous materials at the Law Library. The Portal has grown to include over 1,165 Tribes and links to ca. 5,000 external websites. Use this to find Native Nation codes, constitutions, charters, official websites and more. Includes United States, Alaska, Canada, Mexico, North America, and Central America.
- National Congress of American IndiansResolutions and legal briefings from NCAI
- National Indian Law LibraryNews bulletins or research by topic
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)Has databases from 20 countries in six continents (at present mainly those with a common law tradition): from Australasia (120), Canada (61); Britain and Ireland (27), the Pacific Islands (25), Hong Kong (13) and other countries in Asia and Africa (6). All types of legal databases are included: case law (165), legislation (45), treaties (3), law reform (4), law journals (11), and specialist subject databases. In combination, the LII's accessible through WorldLII include 240 databases.
Find Books and Articles
Learning Outcomes
By the end of this class, you will be able to
- get help from library staff if you need it
- find full text court opinions, statutes, Congressional hearings online
- find the books and scholarly journal articles you need to successfully complete your AIS 280 assignments
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
