BCH 367: Elementary Biochemistry Lab
Guide for Dr. Lefler's genetically modified crops project.
Need more help?
Citing Your Sources
- CAS Source IndexUse this resource to find the title abbreviations in the ACS format style for your citations.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanUse interlibrary loan for the full text of articles that ASU Library does not have a subscription. In general, you will receive a pdf file of articles and they will be available through your online interlibrary loan account.
Books in the ASU Library
Below is a sample of books available on the topic of genetically modified crops:
Cultural Politics and the Transatlantic Divide over GMOs by ISBN: 9781137314727Publication date: 2014-12-15Alongside other factors, cultural values and identities help to explain different regulatory frameworks for genetically modified organisms.
Genetically Modified Crops and Agricultural Development by ISBN: 9781137405715Publication date: 2016- Legal issues with federal labeling of genetically engineered food byPublication date: 2015
- Genetically Engineered Crops in the United States byPublication date: 2014
To find more books, click the sample subject headings:
Library Video Tutorial
- BCH 367 - Library Video TutorialThe notes field includes the slide captions.
Special Project: Genetically Modified Crops
In this assignment, you and your group will investigate a selected aspect of genetically modified crops. You are expected to:
- Read and understand scientific literature
- Evaulate validity and importance of various sources of information
- Cite your sources using the ACS format
Major concepts covered in this assignment include:
- Science of genetic engineeringkeywords: Genetically modified foods/organisms/crops, transgenic crops/plants, agricultural biotechnology
- Pros and cons of GMO cropskeywords: environmental impact/activism
- Government role in regulationkeywords: food safety, intellectual property, policy/regulation
- Consumer role in selectionkeywords: consumer attitudes/preferences
Scientific Literature
Remember you'll need current literature (published within the last 3-4 years). Each database has different methods of sorting and limiting by the publication date.
Other ways to sort and limit your results:
- Scholarly journal - this is an option in many of the databases. This option will eliminate news articles and opinion pieces.
- How many times the article has been cited [Web of Science & Google Scholar]
- Academic Search UltimateA multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Content may fluctuate at the publishers’ discretion.
- AgricolaAGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, etc
- CompendexIndex to engineering journal articles and conference papers from the major engineering publishers.
- Ecological Society of America PublicationsPublishes results of ecological research, particularly those that increase the understanding and applications of general ecological concepts.
- Environment CompleteEnvironment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database includes over 2 million records from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- PubMedAn Abstract/Citation Database, PubMed indexes citations for articles from medical journals as well as citations from general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE.
- ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
- Social Sciences Citation IndexProvides access to bibliographic information and cited references from more than 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It is part of the Web of Science, this link takes you to just the social sciences section.
- SocIndex with Full TextSocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines, such as gender studies, justice studies, economics, development, psychology, social work, and others. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It is primarily journal articles with some books/ebooks, working papers, dissertations, and conference proceedings. It also includes author profiles of the most prolific authors.
- Web of ScienceProvides access to current bibliographic information and cited references covering more than one thousand journals in arts and humanities, over 5,800 journals in scientific and technical, and over 1,700 journals in social sciences.
General Literature
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides materials supporting different points of view on current social issues. The materials include viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly articles and links to subject-indexed web sites.
Background Information
- CQ Press Electronic LibraryA service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. providing access to political and social policy analysis, political profiles of countries, profiles of members of congress, analysis of supreme court decisions, and statistical data on American politics.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesUse the "Search within this book" link before entering your search terms. The ASU Subscription does not included full-text articles after 2010. However, you can get access to current articles by requesting them through Interlibrary loan.
- KnovelFull text collection of several thousand reference works for most areas of engineering, technology and the sciences. Works include handbooks, manuals, encyclopedias, data compilations and regular texts. In addition to keyword searching, features also include property data searching, periodic table, a unit converter and interactive equations.
Know where to start
Checking in!
This sample article is from what journal:
Elsevier: 0 votes (0%)
Science Direct: 2 votes (25%)
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation: 0 votes (0%)
Pest Management Science: 0 votes (0%)
Crop Protection: 4 votes (50%)
SciVerse: 0 votes (0%)
Web of Science: 2 votes (25%)
Total votes: 8
Journals
- Journal of Agricultural and Environmental EthicsArticles are available full-text from 1997 to present.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
