BDE 701: Fundamentals of Biological Design

Introduction

This guide is a brief sampling of some of the many resources the ASU Library has to offer. Please do not hesitate to contact a librarian more closely related to your project's subject area for more help and information.

We are here to help you!

Chat with a Librarian

Resources for the Research Lab

Current Protocols in Cell Biology
Full-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
Current Protocols in Immunology
Full-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Full-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
Current Protocols in Protein Science
collection of methods for the study of all aspects of proteins, and includes both classic and state-Full-text access to laboratory methods manuals published by Wiley.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
A collection of articles by scientists and historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, science and society.
knovel
A collection of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
Nature Protocols
An online peer-reviewed library of step-by-step procedures for the lab bench, published by Nature.

O'Reilly for Higher Education

Access all eBooks published by O’Reilly, covering topics such as programming, IT networking, project management, graphic design, and business strategy. Available formats include audiobooks, videos, and on-demand learning courses.

Please read: Terms of Service before using this resource. Publisher restrictions prohibit using O'Reilly content as a replacement for textbooks in classes.
Please note that the time shown is the average time needed to read the book cover to cover and does change to show what you have read. This does not limit your use of the book.
Includes: O’Reilly Answers, powered by a Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG) model and draws only from O’Reilly’s curated content, fully integrated across the platform for seamless discovery.

Citation Management Tools

There are a variety of tools that you can use to manage your citations! Take a look at these resources and determine which one best fits your needs.

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This complimentary resource can be used to quickly and easily look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.
Mendeley
Free reference manager and academic social network. Mendeley is web-based and also has downloadable software to fully utilize the citation management features.
Zotero
Firefox users: Here's a free tool you can use to manage your citations. Use Word Processor Integration plug ins for Word and Open Office for in text citations and bibliography formating.

more... less...

There are not as many citation styles as the subscription services, but you can continue using this long after graduation.

Journal Articles

SciFinder Web
Access for ASU Affiliated Students, Staff and Faculty. Web version of SciFinder Scholar. Covers chemistry, biochemistry and all related fields. Search here for chemical information, journal articles, patents, books, conference proceedings and more.
Inspec
(1969+) Provides over 9 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and dissertations in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, materials science, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.
EI Compendex Web
(1970+) Covers the entire spectrum of engineering, including journals, conference papers & technical reports. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, quality control, and engineering management issues.
IEEE Xplore
Contains full-text of journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
PubMed
(1950+) PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE.
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.