Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Why is the Amazon Burning? Visions of the Amazon: Imaginaries & Realities-Ebooks and Rare Books (HUL 494/598): Home

Curator for Latin American Studies and Interim Curator for Rare Books and Manuscripts

Seonaid Valiant's picture
Seonaid Valiant
Contact:
Hayden Library, ASU
Website

Ebooks, Documentaries, and Rare Books

This guide supplements the readings and course work for the Humanities Lab 494/598. Please see the two other complimentary guides by Renee James for Arizona (https://libguides.asu.edu/c.php?g=1070648) and Rachel Martinez (https://libguides.asu.edu/c.php?g=1067587&p=7828448) for STEM resources.

E-books and movies online

Adams, Cristina. Amazon peasant societies in a changing environment political ecology, invisibility and modernity in the rainforestNew York: Springer 2009.

https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/lib/asulib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=417374

Asch, Timothy and Napolean Chagnon. The ax fight. (documentary movie)

Watertown, MA Documentary Educational Resources 1975.

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991048133177103841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&isFrbr=true&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ax%20fight&offset=0

Bonotto, Daniel Marcos, Silveira and Ene Gloria da. The Amazon gold rush and environmental mercury contaminationNew York: Nova Science Publishers, 2009.

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991048256421103841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon,AND&query=any,contains,environment,AND&mode=advanced&pfilter=cdate,exact,20000101,AND&pfilter=cdate,exact,99991231,AND&offset=0

Garfield, Seth. In search of the Amazon: Brazil, the United States, and the nature of a regionDurham: Duke University Press 2014.

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991048066722703841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon,AND&query=any,contains,environment,AND&mode=advanced&pfilter=cdate,exact,20000101,AND&pfilter=cdate,exact,99991231,AND&offset=0

Grimshaw, Anna and Silverstein, Sydney M. “The Ax Fight: A Critical Engagement with the Work of Tim Asch and John Marshall.” Visual Anthropology Review, November 2018, Vol.34(2), pp.113-123.

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=wj10.1111%2Fvar.12170&context=PC&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Primo%20Central&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ax%20fight&offset=0

Martin, Pamela. Oil in the soil the politics of paying to preserve the AmazonLanham, MD.: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc. 2011.

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991048394174503841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon,AND&query=any,contains,environment,AND&mode=advanced&pfilter=cdate,exact,20000101,AND&pfilter=cdate,exact,99991231,AND&offset=0

Nugent, Stephen L. Scoping the Amazon image, icon, ethnographyWalnut Creek, CA: Left Coast Press, 2007.

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991048264924603841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon,AND&query=any,contains,environment,AND&mode=advanced&pfilter=cdate,exact,20000101,AND&pfilter=cdate,exact,99991231,AND&offset=0

Articles related to coronavirus among indigenous peoples in Brazil

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/history/2020/06/disaster-looms-indigenous-amazon-tribes-covid-19-cases-multiply/

https://www.npr.org/2020/06/12/873091962/coronavirus-hits-indigenous-groups-in-colombian-amazon-on-brazilian-border

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/07/brazil-indigenous-chief-hospital-covid-long-journey-200722194836216.html

Distinctive Collections (some online)

Humboldt, Alexander von; Bonpland, Aimé, 1773-1858.; Personal narrative of travels to the equinoctial regions of the New continent during the years 1799-1804.

Williams, Helen Maria, 1762-1827, tr. London: 1814-29.

catalog record-available on Hathi Trust:

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991006817579703841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,alexander%20von%20humboldt%20spec&offset=0

Marcoy, Paul.; Rich, Elihu. A journey across South America from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean. London: 1873-74 v.3, 1874.

Hathi Trust record:

https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011528404

Mee, Margaret.; Pabst, G. F. J. (Guido F. J.). Flores do Amazonas = Flowers of the Amazon. Rio de Janeiro: 1980.

Call number and catalog record:

Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC A-231

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991016938279703841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon%20spec&offset=0

Nordenskiöld, Erland. 'archologie du bassin de l'Amazone. Key-Rasmussen, Marguerite, tr. Paris: 1930.

Call number and catalog record:

Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-1676

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991013627759703841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon%20spec&offset=0

Reid, Mayne. The forest exiles, or, The perils of a Peruvian family amid the wilds of the AmazonLondon: 1888.

Hathi Trust record: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008654893?type%5B%5D=all&lookfor%5B%5D=The%20forest%20exiles%2C%20or%2C%20The%20perils%20of%20a%20Peruvian%20family%20amid%20the%20wilds%20of%20the%20Amazon.%20&ft=

Call number and catalog record:

Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-3261

https://search.lib.asu.edu/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991018774069703841&context=L&vid=01ASU_INST:01ASU&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,amazon%20spec&offset=0

Databases

Latin American Newspapers - World News Archive: Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970-
Provides citations to scholarly journals published across the world on Latin America & the Caribbean. Includes political, economic, social issues, and the arts and humanities.

The best and easiest way to generate HTML tags for your website is using HTML cheatsheet.

Hours and Locations