By the end of this tutorial you will be able to:
Recognize what articles are
Understand there are different types of articles
Distinguish characteristics of different article types
Identify different article types in research database search results
Limit database searches to types of articles
Tutorial -Evaluating Resources - There is alotof information out there, not all of it useful or trustworthy. Shouldn't you really check to see if it is CRAAP?
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Select a source appropriate to your research topic. Use that source to answer the questions below to determine if it is appropriate to use.
A comparably thorough and easy to use guide, only for APA.
Contains templates and examples for over 500 different resource types, sorted by type of resource (book, journal article, etc.) Provided by the University Libraries at University at Albany SUNY
The Theory List: Theories Covered in the 10th Edition of your textbook, Communication: A First Look at Communication Theory.
A list of Communication Theories, clustered by topic, with definitions, history, core assumptions, and lists of key references, maintained by The University of Twente in the Netherlands. Connect to Communication Theory Clusters
Coverage: 1915+ Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database is a research and reference source in the fields of communication, journalism, and mass media. The database also covers some aspects of the field of advertising and related topics. The database indexes and abstracts journals and conference presentations.
Coverage: 1923+ Maximum concurrent users: Unlimited This comprehensive business database merges the content of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition. It includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas as well as case studies, annual reports, Experian company credit information, country reports, industry reports, commodity reports, conference papers, and dissertations.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.