LibGuides: Humanities Lab: Sustainable Fashion: Library Resources: Sustainable Fashion

Library One Search

One Search is our library catalog and search tool, allowing you to search print and e-books, electronic resources, digital collections and more, all in one place.

Here are some common search terms that you can use to help you navigate our catalog.

Sustainable Fashion
Fashion Waste
Fast Fashion
BlockChain in Fashion
Fashion Industry
Clothing Industry
Circular Fashion
Green Fashion
Eco-Fashion
Eco Fashion
Eco Friendly Fashion

Fashion Databases and Journals

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to full-text business and economics journals, dissertations, working papers, and key periodicals like The Economist and The Wall Street Journal, along with detailed company and industry reports.
Coverage: 1923+

Fashion and Textiles (Journal)
Fashion and Textiles aims to advance knowledge and to seek new perspectives in the fashion and textiles industry worldwide. The scope of the journal includes the following four technical research divisions: Textile Science and Technology, Clothing Science and Technology, Economics of Clothing and Textiles/Fashion Business, Fashion Design and Cultural Study on Fashion.
Fashion Theory (Journal)
Fashion Theory takes as its starting point a definition of “fashion” as the cultural construction of the embodied identity. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for the rigorous analysis of cultural phenomena ranging from footbinding to fashion advertising.
Fashion Studies : Ryerson University. Centre for Fashion Diversity and Social Change (Journal)
Fashion Studies advocates and offers a platform for research that is both critical of fashion studies and recognizes fashion’s nuanced history and continued potential as a tool for systemic change. Work that centres diverse voices and experiences in its exploration of dress, that engages with fashion across multiple fields, and that applies innovative methodological approaches to the field, is encouraged.

Godey’s Lady’s Book: 1830-1898 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection from a leading 19th-century women’s magazine includes fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, music, and fashion illustrations, along with digital images of advertisements and artwork, offering a rich resource for studying women's history and culture.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environment from a variety of perspectives. Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management.
Coverage: 1970+

Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management
JFMM focuses on fashion marketing and management in the business context from an apparel perspective.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.
Coverage: 1890 - 1982

The New British lady's magazine : or, Monthly mirror of literature and fashion
A British women's magazine on literature and fashion from the 1800s

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
WGSN accurately forecasts consumer, lifestyle and product design trends, empowering our clients to make confident decisions, adapt and stay ahead of an ever-changing consumer landscape and rapidly escalating climate priorities. WGSN focuses on the most valuable global brands in Fashion, Beauty, Food & Drink, Interiors and Consumer Tech.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the definitive fashion and retail publication, Women’s Wear Daily (WWD). The entire archive of WWD, previously unavailable in digital form, opens up new opportunities for research. This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for students across the disciplines of fashion, business, and history.

Books on Sustainable Fashion

Sustainable Fashion and Textile Recycling The clothing and textile industry is a resource-intensive industry and accounts for 3 to 10 percent of global carbon dioxide emissions. In addition, the industry is extremely linear and generates large amounts of waste. For the industry to move from a linear to a circular economy, several solutions are required along the value chain: upstream by working with resource efficiency, the longevity of textile products, and preventing waste; and downstream with techniques for sorting and recycling. In addition, solutions for traceability and transparency need to be developed and coordinated as accepted methods for sustainability measurements. This Special Issue (SI) "Sustainable Fashion and Textile Recycling" brings together areas of knowledge along the textile value chain to highlight the difficulties and opportunities that exist from both a broader perspective and in specific issues. In this SI, these 11 papers are mainly devoted to new research in traceability, design, textile production, and recycling. Each valuable article included in this Special Issue contributes fundamental knowledge for a transformation of the textile and fashion industry to take place. Numerous studies, solutions, and ideas need to be carried out to create the innovations that will become the reality of our future. Likewise, we need to learn from each other and take advantage of all the fantastic knowledge that is generated globally every day towards a better future for generations to come.
Publication date: 2022
Historical Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion For centuries, the fashion industry has struggled to reconcile style with sustainability. In Historical Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion, you will be transported back in time to discover the historical dimensions of today's sustainable fashion movement. An array of success stories and cautionary tales provide both inspiration and warnings for the eco-conscious designer, encouraging an innovative approach that builds on predecessors' discoveries to move the practice of fashion forward. The 1st edition, Sustainable Fashion: Past, Present and Future, emerged from the Museum at FIT's groundbreaking exhibition 'Eco-Fashion: Going Green'. This revised edition broadens perspectives even further, incorporating eye-opening examples of designers, brands and activists working for change across the world today. Likewise, a new chapter examines the globalized mainstream fashion system and historical alternatives that provide compelling inspiration for reimagining the status quo.Fascinating and timely, Historical Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion examines progressive fashion through a historical lens, encouraging readers to question the state of the industry and demonstrating the value of historical insights in enabling and inspiring change.
Publication date: 2023
The Sustainable Fashion Quest When thinking about lowering or changing consumption to lower carbon footprints, the obvious offenders come easily to mind: petroleum and petroleum products, paper and plastic, even food, but not clothes. When people evaluate ways to lower their personal carbon footprint by changing purchasing habits, they are bombarded with information to avoid petroleum and petroleum products, plastics, paper, even food, but not clothes. Most consumers do not think of clothes as a source of environmental damage. Yet, clothes are made with petroleum products through chemically-laden industrial processes that generate significant pollution. The fashion industry is among the largest organic water polluters in the world, accounting for significant greenhouse gas emissions and generating massive amounts of waste as a function of the frequent discarding of used clothing. In the Dirty Side of the Garment Industry: Fast Fashion and Its Negative Impact on Environment and Society, author Nikolay Anguelov exposed the ecological damage from the fast-fashion business model. In this book, The Sustainable Fashion Quest: Innovations in Business and Policy, the author takes this one step further by focusing on solutions. This book uses the familiar (yet complex) industry of fashion as a lens to examine how business pressures and national and international policies can have both positive and negative social and ecological impacts. It provides an analysis of extant and emerging policies to address the divergence in the ongoing quest to maximize economic development and minimize the social costs of the industrialization process. It also examines emerging technologies and innovative business models that have the potential to revolutionize how fashion is perceived, manufactured, and consumed. This book begins with an introductory letter that outlines the social and environmental issues facing the fashion industry, as well as emphasizing the seriousness and urgency of addressing them. Each chapter then focuses on a major aspect of the industry with an increasing emphasis on policy. The chapters outline the impact of global-level and business-level decisions on the industry's success, its social and environmental impact, and its relationship to consumers. The goal of the book is to define that transition, explain its challenges, and educate readers on the possibilities to become powerful drivers of change through their professional actions and their personal behavior as consumers. While the book specifically analyzes the fashion industry, it also explains the implications for other industrial sectors. It uses a product everyone is familiar with (we all buy clothes, after all) to examine the decisions, impacts, and policies shaping the industry behind the scenes. The linkages are applicable to other fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) business sectors, such as consumer electronics, which are starting to face sustainability criticism for relying on a business model of promoting a high frequency of repeat purchasing.
Publication date: 2021
Recycling from Waste in Fashion and Textiles The alarming level of greenhouse gases in the environment, fast depleting natural resources and the increasing level of industrial effluents, have made every single manufacturing activity come under the scrutiny of sustainability. When all kinds of waste such as clothes, furniture, carpets, televisions, shoes, paper, food wastes etc. end up in the landfill, only a few of them are naturally decomposed and thus a large majority remains as non-biodegradable. It is for this reason, efforts are concentrated to reduce the burden on earth by this waste, and as far as used textile products are concerned, there are now attempts to recycle or up-cycle. This book addresses the role of sustainability by using textile waste in fashion and textiles with respect to manufacturing, materials, as well as the economic and business challenges and opportunities it poses. This wide-ranging book comprises 19 chapters on the various topics including: · Solutions for sustainable fashion and textile industry · Agro and bio waste in the fashion industry · Innovating fashion brands by using textile waste · Waste in handloom textiles · Business paradigm shifting: 21st century fashion from recycling and upcycling · Utilization of natural waste for sustainable textile coloration · Circular economy in fashion and textile from waste · Future pathways of waste utilization for fashion · Sustainable encapsulation of natural dyes from Plant waste for textiles · Agro-waste applications for bio-remediation of textile effluent
Publication date: 2020
Luxury Fashion Brand Management and Sustainability Provides a comprehensive overview of luxury brand management from a sustainability perspective, using cases and examples to demonstrate how sustainability practices can be embedded into the product and applied to existing luxury brands. Each chapter includes real life case studies from both well-known international brands and boutique luxury start-ups. Designed as a core or recommended text for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate Luxury Fashion Management and Luxury Brand Management courses.
Publication date: 2023
Supply Chain Management and Logistics in the Global Fashion Sector The ways in which we design, make, transport and then discard clothes has a huge social and environmental impact. This book covers responsible business practices and sustainability in the fashion industry from the raw fibre stage, through production, to the point of customer consumption. The concepts of responsibility and sustainability are fast becoming essential factors in business decisions and Supply Chain Management and Logistics in the Global Fashion Sector leads the reader through the multiple stages in the supply chain that can impact on business strategy. A perfect resource for students studying fashion and for those working in the sector who wish to identify the latest thinking as they plan sustainability strategies, the book is divided into four clear sections. Part I of the book examines sustainability in the supply chain by identifying the three pillars of sustainability (social, economic and environmental) and considers how fashion brands are innovating in this area. Part II looks at fashion logistics and supply chain operations by assessing fibre, yarn and fabric considerations, logistical issues for both garment production, and service delivery, stock control, transportation, barriers and risks. Part III develops the logistics theme further by identifying recent trends and case studies that highlight agility and lean management structures, and the application of transparency enhancing radio frequency identification (RFID). This section further applies modelling and simulation techniques from the automotive and pharmaceutical industries to the fashion sector. Part IV considers how sustainability can be embedded into the multi-tiered fashion supply chain and its selling environment.
Publication date: 2020
Sustainable Fibres for Fashion and Textile Manufacturing Sustainable Fibres for Fashion and Textile Manufacturing presents the latest technical information about innovative natural and synthetic materials, helping the reader to understand sustainable fibres and raw materials for fashion and textile manufacturing. With a particular focus on apparel manufacturing, different applications of sustainable fibres are explored along with manufacturing techniques and details of the material properties. New research investigating nontraditional sources of textile fibres such as lotus, orange, milk, seaweed, corn, and mushroom are all presented, providing a uniquely comprehensive resource. Drawing on work by contributors from a variety of fields and roles in industry and academia, this book shares solutions and new perspectives on this interdisciplinary topic more widely in the hope of leading to research breakthroughs. Shares a wealth of valuable data and results from research into sustainable cellulosic, lingo-cellulosic and protein fibres Includes full technical descriptions of newly explored sustainable fibres, including chemical structures and structural properties Presents a strong focus on improving sustainability of the industry through practical measures spanning disciplinary boundaries to address this complex issue
Publication date: 2022
Assessing the Environmental Impact of Textiles and the Clothing Supply Chain A practical guide on identifying and responding to environmental challenges across the supply chain.
Publication date: 2020
Circular Fashion Circular Fashion provides an accessible, practical, and holistic approach to this key topic for anyone studying fashion. This introductory text to sustainability in fashion includes best practice case studies and profiles of key companies such as Patagonia, Veja, Christopher Raeburn, and Stella McCartney.
Publication date: 2021
Eco-Friendly and Fair This book evaluates fashion trends, what factors have led to new trends, and how the factors supporting fast fashion differ from those of the past. It explores the economic drivers of fast fashion and what social, environmental and political factors should be maintained, and business approaches adopted, in order for fast fashion to be a sustainable model. In particular, it provides consumer behavior concepts that can be utilized at the retail level to support sustainable fashion.
Publication date: 2018