NatureSpace

Naturespace is a space to find inspiration from nature. It is a hands-on natural collection where ASU Affiliates can come in and learn from nature. They can handle the specimens, sketch them, and even use our equipment to do research. It is a space for people from all different backgrounds.

You can find inspiration in nature for any field! 

Naturespace is located in Hayden Library 3rd floor near the Makerspace.

Most natural collections are not hands-on. We wanted to change that by providing ASU Affiliates with a collection that they could handle freely without the red tape. This is a learning collection that provides others to make close observations of specimens to find inspiration through, texture, structure, and forms of natural models. 

Not only that, we want others to explore the natural world and understand its importance. In Biomimicry, one of the core concepts of the discipline is (re)connect. This concept is for people to rebuild a relationship with nature so we can learn from it. 

Naturespace allows others to explore nature's models using nature as a mentor for challenges in their own disciplines. This can provide a place for: 

• Artists to become intimate with nature's patterns.
• Engineers and architects to learn about nature's structure and form.
• Business majors to find insight into how nature is so resilient.
• Designers to find ideas for their projects
• Computer science to learn about nature's networks
• Collaboration between disciplines.

Anyone can become a naturalist. Becoming a naturalist starts with curiosity. Having a place where one can learn and fuel their natural curiosities can be beneficial for the individual whether it is for school, work, or fun. Finding inspiration from nature is the first step to sustainable solutions and Naturespace can provide that inspiration for future innovation. 

The collection of Naturespace is a combination of donated and bought materials. Without the students, staff, faculty, and organizations who donated, we would not be able to have some of the fascinating natural artifacts that we have. If you want to contribute to this collection, you are welcome to. We would take anything that falls under environmental laws. Some of the specimens we can not take without permission or advocating they are for a learning collection are: 

• Migratory birds (any parts of them) 
• Rare or endangered creatures

These two categories need permits to be accepted. 

Do you want to Donate? Please take this into consideration: 

• Please check specimens before donating for bugs such as dermestids. If there are any type of bugs, husks, or dead beetles within the specimen or around, please freeze it for a week before donating. 

What are dermestids?

Dermestids are beetles that break down dead organic matter. They are usually found on specimens that have organic matter still presence like bugs, bees/wasp nests, taxidermy, etc. Please watch this on dermestids if you wish to learn more. 

Biophilia, Biomimicry and William Morris | Kelmscott Press Day (2021)

By: Channing Schoneberger and Naomi Cadena