Anti-Bias Anti-Racism Anti-Asian/Asian American
A-Z Databases
The databases from the ASU A-Z list include streaming media, archives, and articles. The lists provide various disciplinary studies which include iconic and influential writers, artists, fashion designers, filmmakers, and scholars from the Asian American community. Select a database, and the link will direct you to the website. Then type “Asian American” in the search box.
- Alexander Street Drama This link opens in a new window
Recordings of major dramatic works from the 19th to 21st centuries, featuring productions from Shakespeare to modern playwrights, and covering topics across multiple disciplines.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on artfrom periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations.
- Artstor Collections on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore millions of high-quality images in a curated, cross-disciplinary collection from global museums, archives, and artists, with publicly accessible files integrated with JSTOR’s journals, books, and primary sources.
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 250 plays by Asian American playwrights from the late 19th to early 21st century, with details on productions, theaters, companies, and selected ephemera.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications, US state & regional periodicals, and major serials on architecture and design. Other subjects include Archeology, City & Urban planning, Historic preservation, etc.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of declassified U.S. government documents, meticulously curated and indexed, covering critical events in U.S. foreign policy, intelligence, and national security from 1945 to the present.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Arizona State University This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1954-1979 (index only), 1979+ (full text of the dissertations included)
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A searchable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations - CFile Daily This link opens in a new window
Cfile Foundation was founded in 2013 to provide an expanded ceramic field— art, design, architecture and technology—with two things: a knowledge center where the new paradigms shaping our future (and that of other arts) can be addressed, published and broadcast; and a virtual place where a new global, inter-disciplinary community can grow, combine its resources and serve the field during a time of unparalleled flux. In essence we set out to make a ceramic GPS device that would guide the field to its future.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access millions of articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals; an essential resource for research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts. - Project MUSE Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of high-quality, peer-reviewed journals and e-books from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers, and scholarly societies, offering full-text content in literature, history, arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1934-2005
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Los Angeles, CA This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada. Covers all subjects & such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, education, history, sports, food, & science. The retrospective database covers the years 1890-1982 and includes links to full text.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the definitive fashion and retail publication, Women’s Wear Daily (WWD). The entire archive of WWD, previously unavailable in digital form, opens up new opportunities for research. This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for students across the disciplines of fashion, business, and history.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Coverage: From the advent of printing to the present; content updated daily. Comprised of several hundred million bibliographic records from OCLC member libraries, WorldCat includes records representing hundreds of languages. The database is updated daily and includes records for books, dissertations, journals, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings and video recordings. WorldCat allows researchers to identify publications, verify citations, and to locate materials at the Arizona Libraries and thousands of other U.S. and international libraries.
- Retraction Watch Database This link opens in a new windowThe Retraction Watch Database is the largest and most comprehensive source for finding article retractions, notices of concern, etc. It includes more than 18,000 retracted papers and conference abstracts dating back to the 1970s.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1968 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news, recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The Archive's collection includes news coverage of significant events broadcast outside the scope of the regular evening news programs. This part of the collection focuses on the U.S. presidential politics, including political conventions, election coverage, and speeches and press conferences of the President currently in office. The Special Reports collection also includes coverage of major national and world events and major military conflicts involving the U.S. An icon of a video camera identifies entries that include streaming video. Streaming videos have a one week embargo before they are available to stream. For other entries, individuals can request loans of items from the collection for reference, study, classroom instruction, and research. Fees apply for the loan service.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
