Slavery (Researching Slavery)
- Home
- Available BooksToggle Dropdown
- Abolitionists ---- Abolitionists in literature
- Africa--Emigration and immigration ---- African American women
- African American women abolitionists ---- African Americans -- Liberia
- African Americans--Maine ---- African Americans--Societies, etc.
- African Americans -- South Carolina ---- Brown, Henry Box, 1815 or 1816-
- Brown, John, 1800-1859 ---- Ex-slaves of Indian tribes
- Federal government ---- Freedmen -- Georgia
- Freedmen -- Ghana ---- Fugitive slave communities
- Fugitive slaves ---- Fugitive slaves in literature
- Gannibal family ---- Mott, Lucretia, 1793-1880
- Names, Personal -- African American ----- Plantation life -- South Carolina
- Plantation life -- Southern States ---- Quilombos
- Racially mixed people ---- Slave labor -- Cuba
- Slave labor -- Ecuador ---- Slave trade -- Bibliography
- Slave trade -- Brazil ---- Slave trade -- Mozambique
- Slave trade -- Netherlands ---- Slave traders -- Washington, D.C.
- Slaveholders -- Alabama ---- Slavery and Judaism
- Slavery and the church ---- Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896
- Tait, Bacon, 1796-1871 --- Wisconsin -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
- Women abolitionists ---- Yoruba diaspora
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Primary Source Databases
- Websites
Websites
African American Intellectual History Society
"The African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS) is a scholarly organization that aims to foster dialogue about researching, writing, and teaching black thought and culture."
Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc., James Dent Walker Chapter, Washington, DC (AAHGS-DC)
"Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc., James Dent Walker Chapter, Washington, DC (AAHGS-DC) is a non-profit membership organization committed to the history, genealogy, and culture of the African-Ancestored populations of the local DC, national and international community."
David C. Driskell Center for the Study of Visual Arts & Culture of African Americans & the African Diaspora
"Established in 2001 [at the University of Maryland], the David C. Driskell Center provides an intellectual home for artists, museum professionals, art administrators and scholars who are interested in broadening the field of African diasporic studies."
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
"We are building a robust, open-source architecture to discover, connect, and visualize 600,000 (and growing) people records and 5 million data points. From archival fragments and spreadsheet entries, we see the lives of the enslaved in richer detail. Explore the data and life stories on Enslaved.org and read articles on data-driven research about the lives of the enslaved in the Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation."
Harriet Beecher Stowe Center
"We preserve and interpret Stowe’s Hartford home and the center’s historic collections, promote vibrant discussion of her life and work, and inspire commitment to social justice and positive change."
Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad (National Historical Park, Maryland)
"Harriet Tubman was a deeply spiritual woman who lived her ideals and dedicated her life to freedom. She is the Underground Railroad’s best known conductor and before the Civil War repeatedly risked her life to guide 70 enslaved people north to new lives of freedom. This new national historical park preserves the same landscapes that Tubman used to carry herself and others away from slavery."
International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition
"The night of 22 to 23 August 1791, in Santo Domingo (today Haiti and the Dominican Republic) saw the beginning of the uprising that would play a crucial role in the abolition of the transatlantic slave trade."
"It is against this background that the International Day for the Remembrance of the Slave Trade and its Abolition is commemorated on 23 August each year."
International Decade for People of African Descent 2015-2024 (UNESCO)
"This Decade, for which the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) was designated as the lead agency, aims to strengthen actions and measures to ensure the full realization of the economic, social, cultural, civil and political rights of people of African descent, and their full and equal participation in society."
"Under the theme 'Recognition, Justice and Development', the Decade provides an operational framework to encourage States to eradicate social injustices inherited from history and to fight against racism, prejudice and racial discrimination to which people of African descent are still subjected."
Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation (Enslaved.org)
"The Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation (ISSN 2691-297X) is a digital academic journal that publishes datasets and accompanying data articles about the lives of enslaved Africans and their descendants from the fifteenth to the early twentieth centuries. The Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation builds from and expands upon the pioneering digital scholarship on the transatlantic slave trade. As such, the journal elevates curated data to a first-class publication status, providing scholarly review, recognition, and credit to those who undertake the intellectual work involved in generating, cleaning, contextualizing, and describing digital records relating to bondage and freedom in Africa and the diaspora."
Legacies of Slavery: A Resource Book for Managers of Sites and Itineraries of Memory (UNESCO)
"This resource book is designed for managers of sites and itineraries of memory related to the slave trade and slavery. It provides a comparative analysis of experiences in the preservation and promotion of such sites across the world and proposes practical guidance for their management and development."
"It is the first resource book on this specific issue to be published by a UN agency, and provides guidelines on how best to preserve, promote and manage sites of memory, taking into account the sensitivity of this painful memory."
Slave Route (UNESCO)
"Ignorance or concealment of major historical events constitutes an obstacle to mutual understanding, reconciliation and cooperation among peoples. UNESCO’s Slave Route project: Resistance, Liberty, Heritage has broken the silence surrounding the slave trade and slavery that have concerned all continents and caused the great upheavals that have shaped our modern societies."
Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora
"The images in Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. Our growing collection currently has over 1,200 images. This website is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World."
SlaveVoyages
"This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action."
- Last updated: Sep 22, 2022 9:48 AM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/slavery-research
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
