Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Slavery (Researching Slavery)

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Appiah, Kwame Anthony and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, 1st ed. New York: Basic Civitas Books, 1999. xxxvii, 2,095 pages.
DT14 .A37435 1999 High Density Storage Collection Stacks

Appiah, Anthony and Henry Louis Gates, Jr.. Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, 2nd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. 5 volumes. 4,096 pages.
DT14 .A37435 2005 v. 1-5 High Density Storage Collection Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks

Boyce Davies, Carole, ed. Encyclopedia of the Africa Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2008. 3 volumes. lxiv, 1010, I-20 pages.
Ebook Central [unlimited access]

Calarco, Tom. People of the Underground Railroad: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008. x pages.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access]

Etis, David and David Richardson. Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2010. The Lewis Walpole Series in Eighteenth-Century Culture and History. xxvi, 307 pages.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access]

Etis, David and David Richardson. Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2010. The Lewis Walpole Series in Eighteenth-Century Culture and History. xxvi, 307 pages.
HT1322 .E48 2010 Noble Library Stacks

Falola, Toyin and Amanda Warnock, eds. Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. Greenwood Milestones in African American History. xxxv, 426 pages.
HT1322 .E63 2007 Noble Library Stacks

Finkleman, Paul and Joseph C. Miller, eds. Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery. New York: Macmillan Reference, 1998. 2 volumes. lxv, 1065 pages.
HT861 .M24 1998 Noble Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks

Finkelman, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. 3 volumes.
Oxford Reference
E185 .E545 2006 High Density Storage Collection Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Reference

Hinks, Peter P. and John R. McKivigan, editors and R. Owen Williams, assistant editor. Encyclopedia of Antislavery and Abolition. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. Greenwood Milestones in African American History. 2 volumes. xlviii, 796 pages.
HT1031 .E53 2007 High Density Storage Collection Stacks v. 1-2

Hogg, Peter C. The African Slave Trade and Its Suppression: A Classified and Annotated Bibliography of Books, Pamphlets and Periodical Articles. London; New York: Routledge, 2013. Cass Library of African Studies. 429 pages.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access]

Hogg, Peter C. The African Slave Trade and Its Suppression: A Classified and Annotated Bibliography of Books, Pamphlets and Periodical Articles. London: Frank Cass, 1973. Cass Library of African Studies. 409 pages.
HT1322 .H64x High Density Storage Collection Stacks

Hudson, J. Blaine. Encyclopedia of the Underground Railroad. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2006. vii, 308 pages.
E450 .H855 2006 High Density Storage Collection Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks

Klein, Martin A. Historical Dictionary of Slavery and Abolition, 2nd ed. London, England: Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. Historical Dictionaries of Religions, Philosophies, and Movements. xxv, 451 pages.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access]

Klein, Martin A. Historical Dictionary of Slavery and Abolition, 2nd ed. London, England: Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. Historical Dictionaries of Religions, Philosophies, and Movements. xxv, 451 pages.
HT861 .K54 2002 Noble Library Stacks

Rodriguez, Junius P., ed. Encyclopedia of Slave Resistance and Rebellion. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. Greenwood Milestones in African American History. 2 volumes. li, 748 pages.
E447 .E53 2007 Hayden Library 4th Floor Stacks v. 1-2

Rodriguez, Junius P.. Slavery in the United States: A Social, Poltiical, and Historical Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2007. 2 volumes. xxv, 740, 53 pages.
E441 .S635 2007 v.1-2

Rodriguez, Junius P., general editor. The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997. 2 volumes.
HT861 .H57 1997 Noble Library Stacks & West Valley campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks

Thompson, Julius E., James L. Conyers, Jr. and Nancy J. Dawson, eds. The Frederick Douglass Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2010. xvi, 246 pages.
Ebook Central [3 copies]

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.