Indigenous Leadership Academy - AIPI
Newspapers
Tribal Newspapers
- Ak-Chin RunnerThe Ak-Chin O’odham Runner is published on the first and third Friday of each month. The “Runner” is delivered to all residents and departments of the Ak-Chin Indian Community, as well as surrounding community businesses, interested groups and subscribers.
- Navajo TimesIts mission is to inform the Navajo people of events, news and issues of importance to them, whether from within the boundaries of the Navajo Nation or throughout the United States. The Navajo Times is circulated in the Four Corners region and the rest of the U.S. through subscriptions.
- Pechenga.netPechanga.Net has become one of the most important news resources for Indian Country and the gaming industry.
Mainstream Indigenous News
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
- Indian Country Today NewsIndian Country Today (ICT) is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians, Alaska Natives and First Nations.
- Indianz.comNative American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe.
- Native American Law 360This database provides legal news and current awareness tools in a wide variety of law practice areas. It is updated every business day.
Mainstream Newspapers
- Arizona RepublicArizona Republic: Contains full text of most articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. Does not include images and advertisements.
- Access World NewsAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
- Ethnic News WatchEthnic NewsWatch includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from BIPOC presses. The link provided will take you directly to tribal publications. It includes publications from Native American Times (Oklahoma), The Ojibwe News, The Circle : News from an American Indian Perspective (Minneapolis American Indian Center), The Cherokee Phoenix, and Indian Country Today.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
