Indigenous Leadership Academy - AIPI
Archives
The Indian Treaty Between the Provinces of Maryland and Virginia and the Six Nations, part of the Ratified Indian Treaty 3: Six Nations with Virginia and Maryland - Lancaster, PA (Printed Copy), June 1744
August 26, 1790, Proclamation with the Names of President George Washington and Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson, part of the Ratified Indian Treaty 13: Chickasaw - Hopewell, January 10, 1786.
Archive Resources
-
American Indian History OnlineFind information on key court cases, important treaties, legends, maps, and videos on the history of Indigenous Peoples in the United States.
-
Arizona Archives OnlineDetailed descriptions of archival material about the history of Arizona and other subjects. The archival collections described in AAO are held at institutions across the state including academic libraries, historical institutions, special collections libraries, museums and other libraries and archives in Arizona.
-
Indigenous Digital ArchivesWhile treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
-
National Archives CatalogThe National Archives holds historical U.S. government documents (federal, congressional, and presidential records) that are created or received by the President and his staff, by Congress, by employees of Federal government agencies, and by the Federal courts in the course of their official duties.
-
NAU Cline Library Digital Special CollectionsDiscover unique research materials that document the diverse human and natural history of the Colorado Plateau and Northern Arizona including information on the Dine and Zuni tribes.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
