Philosophy
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications,language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
Coverage: 2/1984+
- The Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of academic philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes every significant English and foreign-language title printed in the UK, along with important works from the Americas between 1701 and 1800, comprising over 32 million pages of text across 180,000 titles and 205,000 volumes.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The digital Loeb Classical Library provides electronic access to the classic series of Greek and Latin literature. The database includes the complete print series and covers all literary, historical, philosophical, medical, and religious texts in Greek and Latin, with English translation. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.Alternate titles: Digital Loeb Classical Library - Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowGlobal digitized primary source collections from the long nineteenth century, including rare monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and more in Western and non-Western languages, curated by international experts.Alternate titles: Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 4: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 6: Photography: The World Through the Lens, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 7: Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 8: Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women: Transnational Networks, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 5: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
- Past Masters This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of primary documents in the humanities, especially philosophy, featuring definitive editions of seminal works from Ancient Greece to the late 19th century.
- PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A community-sourced multilingual index and bibliography of philosophy, monitoring research content sources like journals, books, and open access archives, and hosting the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Maximum Concurrent Users: 10
Off-Campus Access: Account Required, must set affiliation to ASU. - Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on philosophical topics across history and cultures, written by experts and updated with current research.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
An online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University. It is an authoritative and dynamic reference work, continually updated and expanded. Each entry is authored and updated by an expert or group of experts in the field and then reviewed by a board of editors. A valuable starting point for students of philosophy.
Journals
- British Journal for the History of PhilosophyCovers the history of philosophy & related intellectual history from the ancient world through to the early decades of the 20th century.
- British Journal of AestheticsFounded in 1960, the British Journal of Aesthetics is highly regarded as an international forum for debate in philosophical aesthetics and the philosophy of art. The Journal is published to promote the study and discussion of philosophical questions about aesthetic experience and the arts.
- EthicsEthics features scholarly work that covers a range of topics pertaining to moral, political, and legal philosophy from a variety of intellectual perspectives, including social and political theory, law, and economics. Articles in the journal present new theories, apply theory to contemporary moral issues, and focus on historical works that have significant implications for contemporary theory. In addition to major articles, Ethics publishes critical discussions, symposia, review essays, and book reviews.
- The Journal of PhilosophyThe Journal of Philosophy publishes philosophical articles of current interest and encourages the interchange of ideas, especially the exploration of the borderline between philosophy and other disciplines.
- Journal of Political PhilosophyThe Journal of Political Philosophy is an international journal devoted to the study of theoretical issues arising out of moral, legal and political life. It welcomes, and hopes to foster, work cutting across a variety of disciplinary concerns, among them philosophy, sociology, history, economics and political science.
- Journal of the History of PhilosophyThe Journal of the History of Philosophy is an internationally recognized quarterly that publishes peer-reviewed articles, notes, discussions, and book reviews devoted to the history of philosophy.
- MindMIND is well known for cutting edge philosophical papers in epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of language, philosophy of logic, and philosophy of mind. The editorial team aspires to preserve this tradition in analytic philosophy, but also to enrich and broaden it.
- NoûsNoûs, a premier philosophy journal, publishes articles that address the whole range of topics at the center of philosophical debate, as well as long critical studies of important books.
- The Philosophical QuarterlyThe Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. In an age of increasing specialism, it remains committed to publishing high-quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study. It prioritizes innovative contributions of broad philosophical interest over works that make smaller or technical points within existing debates.
- The Philosophical ReviewThe journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers, and is one of the few journals in the discipline to publish book reviews.
- Philosophy and Phenomenological ResearchPhilosophy and Phenomenological Research is open to a variety of methodologies and traditions. This tradition of openness continues, as reflected by a statement appearing in every issue: 'PPR publishes articles in a wide range of areas. No specific methodology or philosophical orientation is required in submissions.'
- Philosophy and Public AffairsIssues of public concern often have an important philosophical dimension. Philosophy & Public Affairs is published in the belief that a philosophical examination of these issues can contribute to their clarification and to their resolution. It welcomes philosophical discussion of substantive legal, social, and political problems, as well as discussions of the more abstract questions to which they give rise.
- Philosophy CompassPhilosophy Compass is a journal publishing original, peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research from across the entire discipline.
- Last updated: May 6, 2025 2:46 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/philosophy
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
