Health Sciences at ASU

Resources & Tools for: Behavioral Health, Biomedical Informatics, Evidence Based Practice, Exercise & Wellness, Global Health, Health Care Delivery, Healthcare, Health Innovation, Health Professional, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Nutrition

Top Research Databases

PubMed

Citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books are available; may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
CINAHL Ultimate

A definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, offering full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, instructional videos, and continuing education tools across more than 50 specialties.
PsycINFO

Coverage: 1887+
Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included. The database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles (mostly peer-reviewed), books, chapters, and dissertations.
Scopus

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, proceedings, and patents. It offers tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and collaboration. Includes AI assistant: Scopus AI, for enhanced research with natural language searches, summaries, and expert identification.
Cochrane Library

Evidence-based health care resources, such as systematic reviews and clinical trials, to support informed medical decision-making and health policy.

Additional Databases and Resources

More Nursing & Health Related Research Databases

SPORTDiscus
Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics.
Trip Medical Database
Open access meta-search engine focusing on high level evidence including clinical trials.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse NGC is a public resource providing objective & detailed evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
NICE Guidelines
NICE provides guidelines that "are evidence-based recommendations for health and care in England."
RNAO Best Practice Guidelines
Best Practice Guidelines developed by Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) as part of their nursing best practice guidelines project begun in 1999.

Education & General Databases

Academic Search Premier
General database that has articles and other types of information on a variety of topics.
Google Scholar
General research database with articles and other types of information on a variety of topics.
ERIC
Premier U.S. database of education literature including articles and reports in education.
Education Full Text
A fulltext database that covers topics such as teaching methods, literacy standards, adult and continuing education, classroom management, school administration and evaluation methods of both students and teachers
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Search to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patients pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.