Health Sciences at ASU
Need more help?
How to Find Statistics and Numerical Data
Look for sources you recognize and trust. When in doubt, check out the source of the statistics from other organizations. Articles are not always a good source of raw numbers, but can give good context on what the numbers mean.
You can learn more from Finding and Using Health Statistics from the National Library of Medicine
Local and State Health Statistics
Statistics and reports on various health topics such as influenza, STDs, west nile virus, and general health reports related to Maricopa County.
- Arizona Department of Health Services
Vital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of Arizona.
-
Maricopa County Department of Public Health Community Health Data
- State Health Facts
State health statistics from the Kaiser Foundation.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury.
- County Health Rankings
County Health Rankings and statistics.
Global and Country Specific Health Statistics
- World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO provides internationally focused health statistics including data on mortality, diseases, country statistics, and health systems.
- WHO Country-specific Health Information and Statistics
Includes information on countries which are Members of the United Nations.
- World Bank Health Statistics
Statistics from the World Bank.
- Health Stats Portal
The World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics.
- OECD Health Statistics
Data and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
General Statistics Sources
-
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, is a key reference that compiles statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the country and its people.
-
Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data on markets, industries, media, business, finance, politics, population, opinion, lifestyles and a wide variety of other areas of interest. Provides ready-made charts, graphs, and tables. Includes AI assistant: ResearchAI
-
Statistical Insight
Access to U.S. federal, state, local, and international statistical publications, including tables, abstracts, and selected full text from authoritative government and private sources.
More Health Statistics and Guidelines
-
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Provides data on topics such as emergency department visits, health care quality, hospitalizations, and more. - Cancer.gov
Find cancer data and statistics.
- CDC Wonder
System that allows you to search across a variety of public health reports and data systems by topic.
- Data 2010
Data 2010 Data are included for all the objectives and subgroups identified within Healthy People 2010.
-
Fast Stats (CDC)
The latest data in reports, databases, and other resources. - HealthData.gov
Find Health Data on a variety of topics.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly publication from the CDC that contains statistics.
- National Center for Health Statistics
Part of the CDC, NCHS provides datasets and statistics on a variety of health topics.
- National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports
Annual reports; also includes State Snapshots.
-
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)