Login to LibApps


Exercise and Wellness: Web Resources

A guide to research and resources in health promotion, healthy lifestyles, wellness, and sport science.

Web Resources

Professional Associations

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance  - Promotes healthy lifestyles through programs, physical education, recreation, dance and sport.

American College of Sports Medicine  - Promotes and integrates scientific research, education, and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science.

American Council on Exercise - Certifies fitness professionals and health clubs, and commissions testing of exercise products.

American Public Health Association - Information on personal and environmental health, federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health.

American Sports Medicine Institute - dedicated to improving the understanding, prevention, and treatment of sports-related injuries through research technology-based education, and information dissemination.

International Obesity Task Force  - Organization dedicated to informing the world about the urgency of the problem of obesity.

National Coalition for Promoting Physical Activity  - Association dedicated to inspiring and empowering all Americans to lead more physically active lifestyles.

 

Arizona Resources

AZHealthInfo.org  - This site brings together in one portal access to local, state and national information on individual, clinical and community health related topics. Information on individual health conditions and diseases, community health issues and problems.

 

Statistics

CDC FASTSTATS - The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

National Center for Health Statistics - data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control.

 

Government Websites

Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs - Interactive maps, graphs, text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.

Centers for Disease Control  - The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC focuses on developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities.

ClinicialTrials.gov - Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. 

Healthy People 2010  - Statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.

Institute of Medicine Food and Nutrition Page  - This page features links to current projects, events, and reports concerning food, nutrition, and diet. Full text books and reports on dietary reference intakes are available from this site.

Medlineplus - Information on over 700 health topics written for the consumer; medical dictionary; drug information  

National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine (NIH) - National center dedication to complimentary and alternative healthcare.

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases - Research and health information on diseases of the kidneys and digestive system.

National Institutes of Health - Website of National Institutes of Health. Information on health topics, grants, research.

Women's Health - Government resources including best consumer health site MedlinePlus     - Government resources aimed at the particular health issues of women. Contains the full text of journals and links to other resources.

NIH Senior Health -webpage on senior health from the National Institutes of Health.

Nutrition.gov - This portal offers government information on diet and nutrition and the ways these relate to specific diseases, physical activity, food safety, and dietary needs of special groups. Also included are statistical data, fact sheets, links to other U.S. government sites.

Office of Public Health and Science - Agency of the Dept. of Health and Human Services concerned with public health issues.

Overweight and Obesity from The Office of the Surgeon General  - Surgeon General's website with information on nutrition and obesity.

President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports  - Government website promoting the benefits of an active lifestyle. Some full text fact sheets and other information is available.

 

Other Resources

Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care and Society (University of Massachusetts)  - Dedicated to the practice and integration of mindfulness in individuals and society.

Center for Weight and Health  (University of California, Berkeley) - Contains links to programming materials that can be used by both individuals and practitioners. 

Ethnomed  - Contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle or the US.

InfoAging - From the American Federation for Aging Research, this site delivers the latest research-based information on a wide range of age-related diseases, conditions, issues, features, and news.

Lab Tests Online - Information on many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. From the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) and other non profit partners.

Medical Dictionary  (Merriam-Webster from MedlinePlus.gov website)

Scholarly Sports Sites: A subject directory - created an maintained by Gretchen Ghent, Librarian Emerita, University of Calgary. One of the most comprehensive directory for exercise and sports.

 SIRC - goal is to collect, archive, and share qualified sport information with sport enthusiasts in Canada and around the world

 

Images

Hardin MD Medical and Diseases Pictures - The links in Hardin MD's directory are annotated to indicate the presence of pictures

Health education assets library (HEAL) - is a searchable and browsable database of "over 2,000 [digital] images, audio clips and video clips. Educators and clinicians contribute their images and multimedia items so that they will me more readily available to other health science educators.

Health on the Net Media Gallery - repository of over 6800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.

MedPix Medical Images Database - A free online medical image database provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. The database is targeted to physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, graduate nursing students and other post-graduate trainees. The images are organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption. Additional features, including Category 1 CME and CNE credits, quizzes, uploading, and editing, are available to registered users.

Public Health Image Library (PHIL) - welcomes use of their material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into categories by people, place, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.

Hours and Locations