Movement Sciences and Kinesiology

Professional Associations

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance  - Promotes healthy lifestyles through programs, physical education, recreation, dance and sport.

American College of Sports Medicine  - Promotes and integrates scientific research, education, and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science.

American Council on Exercise - Certifies fitness professionals and health clubs, and commissions testing of exercise products.

American Public Health Association - Information on personal and environmental health, federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health.

American Sports Medicine Institute - Organization dedicated to improving the understanding, prevention, and treatment of sports-related injuries through research, technology-based education, and information dissemination.

National Coalition for Promoting Physical Activity  - Association dedicated to inspiring and empowering all Americans to lead more physically active lifestyles.

Arizona Resources

Arizona Department of Health Services  - This site brings together in one portal access to local, state and national information on individual, clinical and community health related topics. Information on individual health conditions and diseases, community health issues and problems.

Statistics

CDC FASTSTATS - The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

National Center for Health Statistics - Data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control.

Government Websites

Centers for Disease Control  - The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC focuses on developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities.

ClinicialTrials.gov - Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. 

Healthy People 2010  - Statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.

Medlineplus - Information on over 700 health topics written for the consumer; medical dictionary; drug information. 

National Institutes of Health - Website of National Institutes of Health. Information on health topics, grants, and research.

Women's Health - Government resources including best consumer health site MedlinePlus     - Government resources aimed at the particular health issues of women. Contains the full text of journals and links to other resources.

Nutrition.gov - This portal offers government information on diet and nutrition and the ways these relate to specific diseases, physical activity, food safety, and dietary needs of special groups. Also included are statistical data, fact sheets, links to other U.S. government sites.

Overweight and Obesity from The Office of the Surgeon General  - Surgeon General's website with information on nutrition and obesity.

President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports  - Government website promoting the benefits of an active lifestyle. Some full text fact sheets and other information is available.

Other Resources

Ethnomed  - Contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle or the US.

SIRC - Its goal is to collect, archive, and share qualified sport information with sport enthusiasts in Canada and around the world.