Login to LibApps


Nutrition: Websites

A guide for finding quality information on food science and nutrition.

Nutrition Websites

 MyPyramid.gov

                 

American Botanical Council | Herbal Library

American Dietetic Association | Position papers

American Heart Association | Nutrition Center

American Society for Nutrition

Arizona Dietetic Association

Center for Disease Control and Prevention | Nutrition for everyone

Healthy Meals Resource System | Providing information to persons working in the USDA's Child Nutrition Programs. 

Institute of Food Technologists

Institute of Medicine |  Food and Nutrition Board | Titles from board

International Food Information Council | Dedicated to the mission of effectively communicating science-based information on health, food safety and nutrition for the public good.

National Cancer Institute | Complementary and Alternative Medicine | Nutritional Methods

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine | Dietary and Herbal Supplements | Using Dietary Supplements Wisely

National Dairy Council

National Institutes of Health | Office of Dietary Supplements

National Kidney Foundation | Council on Renal Nutrition | List of Cookbooks for Kidney Patients (May 2009)

National Library of Medicine | Dietary Supplements Labels Database

National Restaurant Association

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseaes | Nutrition

School Nutrition Association

Society for Nutrition Education

United States Food and Drug Administration

United States Department of Agriculture | Food and Nutrition Information Library | Dietary Supplements | Herbal Information | Vitamins & Minerals & Micronutrients & Phytonutrients | National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference

  

Feeding America | The Historic American Cookbook Project

Food Timeline | Created by Lynne Olver, reference librarian and IACP member. NOTE: This site is an independent research project. It is not sponsored by any food company, grant, publisher, or school. Nor do we partner for commercial gain.

 

Web Resources

American Dietetics Association - This official organization of the dietitians includes nutrition fact sheets, nutrition information for consumers, position papers, the food guide pyramid and much more for the general public

 

American Society for Nutrition - Research society dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition.

 

AZHealthInfo.org  - This site brings together in one portal access to local, state and national information on individual, clinical and community health related topics. Information on individual health conditions and diseases, community health issues and problems.

 

Biological Diversity in Food and Agriculture - This website, designed by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, explores some of the many issues surrounding biodiversity in food and agriculture, with important sections devoted to genetic resources, ecosystems, and the socio-economic impacts upon this diversity.

 

CDC FASTSTATS - The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

 

Centers for Disease Control  - The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities.

 

Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs - Interactive maps, graphs, text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.

 

Center for the Advancement of Health  - Promotes the advancement of health and provides information on the impact of nonbiological factors on health.

 

Center for Weight and Health at UC, Berkeley  - Web resource at UC, Berkeley containing links to programming materials that can be used by both individuals and practitioners.

 

ClinicialTrials.gov - Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers.

 

Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service - Information on food, agriculture, and related topics.

 

Drug Information from MedlinePlus -

 

http://www.evidence-based-medicine.co.uk/default.html - Hayward Medical Communications' evidence-based medicine (EBM) web pages feature details of our catalogue of publications in this field.

 

Food and Nutrition Information Center - Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.

 

Institute of Medicine Food and Nutrition Page  - This page features links to current projects, events, and reports concerning food, nutrition, and diet. Full text books and reports on dietary reference intakes are available from this site.

 

Interactive Menu Planner - A daily food and meal choices guide based on one day's calorie allowance. It may be used in advance to plan a meal, or at the end of a day to add up total calories, as well as fat, and carbohydrates consumed

 

International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) - This site is a gateway to information on the International Dairy Foods Association; the Milk Industry Foundation, the National Cheese Institute, and the International Ice Cream Association.

 

International Obesity Task Force  - Organization dedicated to informing the world about the urgency of the problem of obesity.

 

Lab Tests Online - Information on many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. From the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) and other non profit partners.

 

Life Science Dictionary - 8300+ terms dealing with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics. Also contains some terms relating to ecology, limnology, pharmacology, toxicology and medicine.

 

Medical Dictionary from MedlinePlus - Medical dictionary

 

Medical Images on the Web - A portal with evaluated, annotated links to online image collections

 

Medlineplus - Information on over 700 health topics written at a layperson's level; medical dictionary; drug information

 

MedPix Medical Images Database - A free online medical image database provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. The database is targeted to physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, graduate nursing students and other post-graduate trainees. The images are organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption. Additional features, including Category 1 CME and CNE credits, quizzes, uploading, and editing, are available to registered users.

 

Merck Manuals-free online versions  - The full text of 5 of the Merck Manuals: the Home edition, the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, and several others.

 

National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine (NIH) - National center dedication to complimentary and alternative healthcare.

 

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases - Research and health information on diseases of the kidneys and digestive system.

 

National Institutes of Health - Website of National Institutes of Health. Information on health topics, grants, research.

 

National Women's Health Information Center  - Government resource that is aimed at the particular health issues of women. Contains the full text of journals and links to other resources.

 

NIH Senior Health -

 

Nutrition.gov - This portal offers government information on diet and nutrition and the ways these relate to specific diseases, physical activity, food safety, and dietary needs of special groups. Also included are statistical data, fact sheets, links to other U.S. government sites.

 

Overweight and Obesity from The Office of the Surgeon General  - Surgeon General's website with information on nutrition and obesity.

 

Prevention Research Center at the University of South Carolina  - Web resource with full text tools for assessment, a newsletter, and links to other sites that promote a healthy lifestyle.

 

RxList - Drug information including description, pharmacology, indications and dosage, side effects and drug interactions, warnings and precautions, drug overdosage contraindications, and patient information.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

Hours and Locations