Login to LibApps


Globalization - Interdisciplinary Social Sciences: Images

This guide will provide access to materials on interdisciplinary issues of globalization. Also look here for links to course web pages for Global Cities and Migration.

Saving Images

Save images on portable storage device or in Blackboard

From AP Digital Photo Archive

  • click on image
  • click download
  • click [download button]
  • click on link to .jpg image
  • save file to desktop or storage device

 

From Flickr, Emporis, Google, Panoramio

With cursor on image...

Right Click
Save Image As (rename indicating topic and source you got it from)

  • save on portable storage device or desktop

Loading onto Blackboard

  • open Blackboard
  • tools
  • digital dropbox
  • send file
  • give it a title
  • copy and past extra information in comments box
  • browse to find file

 

Top Places to Search for Images

AP Digital Photo Archive
Approximately 700,000 current and historic photos drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. The archive includes contemporary news images, historical figures, celebrities, and images drawn from key events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available was taken in 1840. Updated daily.

Emporis
Emporis.com is one of the world's largest available platforms concerning building-related information. Here you find buildings, companies and photos in more than 50,000 cities worldwide.

Flickr
This online photo management and sharing software includes millions of photos.

Google Image Search (Advanced)
Currently indexes more than 425 million images. Easy to use. Includes advanced image search.

Panoramio
Look up a city and click on the available images.  This tool interfaces with Google Earth.

Hours and Locations