Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Mathematics and Statistical Sciences

Library and Internet resources for pure and applied mathematics, and statistical sciences .

How to Find Math Books

To Find Books Available at ASU, use the ASU Library's Catalog (use the search box below)

  • To find a specific book, type in the title or author.  If that doesn't work, then use the Title or Author search under the ADVANCED search option.
     
  • To find books on an math or statistics topic, use a Keyword search such as:
    • Calculus
    • "Fourier series"
    • "Fuzzy Logic" 

 

Use the Libraries' One Search (see below) to find books, journal articles, reports, films, etc. on your topic even if we don't own it, but it is in one of our databases.

  • Search titles, keywords or authors in the single search box; an advanced search feature is also available. 
  • Use the options in One Search's right column to limit the results to books, e-books, conference publications, etc. or any combination of these.

 

To Find Books Available in most U.S. and Canadian Libraries (not just ASU), use WorldCat.org

Note: If you're an "on-campus" student and the ASU Library doesn't have a book that you need, you may request the book via our Interlibrary Loan Service.   Special guidance for Online/Distance Students

To Find Electronic Books

In addition to using the ASU Library Catalog to find books that are available online, also use:

  • ASU Library's Electronic Book Collections
    Most of our electronic books to which the ASU Library subscribes are listed in the catalog, however, to search the full text of a book, use the native search engine for these collections:
     
    • Knovel
      Over 2,000 science and engineering handbooks in which you can find facts, formula and property data.
       
    • Safari
      Primarily covers books on computer programming.
       
    • Ebook Central
      Books from major publishers in all subject areas.
       
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      A  collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
       
    • MyIlibrary
      Books from major publishers, organizations and government agencies in all subject areas.
       
    • eBooks on EBSCOhost
      Books from major publishers in all subject areas.
       
  • Google Books
    May be used to search the full text of some books; the full text of books published prior to 1924 are available for viewing within Google books.  For items published after 1924 that copyright holder will not permit Google to display in full, check the book's title in the ASU Library Catalog to see if it's available.

     
  • Freely available electronic book collections: 
     

Hours and Locations