- Bibliographic Guide to East Asian Studies
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1990- .
This annual comprehensive subject bibliographies cover publications cataloged by the Research Libraries of New York Public Library and the Library of Congress for thorough subject coverage. Included are works in all languages and all forms.
- Catalogue of Books on Japan Translated from the Japanese into English, 1945-1981 = Eiyaku Nihon Kankei Hobun Tosho Mokuroku, 1945-1981
Kokusai Koryu Kikin, ed. Tokyo: The Japan Foundation, 1988.
Selected from the Catalogue of books in English on Japan, 1945-1981. Organized by subject; indexed by authors and titles; author's names are also given in Japanese. It might not be as comprehensive as the original, but is still useful.
- Catalogue of Books in English on Japan, 1945-1981
Tokyo: The Japan Foundation, 1986.
The materials were selected from the collections of the National Diet Library of Japan, the Japan Foundation Library, and from materials listed in the Bibliography of Asian Studies. About 9000 books arranged by subject with author and title indexes.
- Doctoral Dissertations on Japan and on Korea, 1969-1979: An Annotated Bibliography of Studies in Western Languages
Shulman, Frank Joseph, ed. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1982.
This publication covers dissertations originally presented in the United States, 18 European nations, Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Japan, the Philippines, Republic of China, and Republic of S. Africa. Japan is covered in pages 3-240.
- Japan and Korea: An Annotated Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations in Western Languages, 1877-1969
Shulman, Frank Joseph, ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1970.
Supplemented by the Doctoral Dissertations on Japan and on Korea, 1969-1979, this is to expand and to bring up to date the Unpublished Doctoral Dissertations Relating to Japan, Accepted in the Universities of Australia, Canada, Great Britain, and United States, 1946-1963, compiled by Peter Cornwall in 1965. This is a comprehensive work of 2077 entries for Japan in English, French, German, Russian, and ten additional European languages. Japan is covered in pages 3-277. Within each subsection the arrangement is chronological by date of completion rather than alphabetical by author. Includes index by degree-awarding institutions and cross-references.
- Doctoral Dissertations on Asia
Ann Arbor, MI: Association for Asian Studies, 1975- . Semiannual.
This publication is an annotated bibliographical journal of current international research, including completed and in-progress dissertations, mostly from North America.
- Asia, Reference Works: A Select Annotated Guide
Nunn, G. Raymond (Godfrey Raymond). London: Mansell, 1980.
Section R covers Japan. Most works are in Japanese. Indexed by author and title.
- Japanese Periodicals and Newspapers in Western Languages: An International Union List
Nunn, G. Raymond (Godfrey Raymond). London: Mansell, 1979.
Approximately 3,500 titles, with holdings for about 700 U.S. and foreign libraries.
- Introductory Bibliography for Japanese Studies
4 vols. Tokyo: University of Tokyo Press, 1974- .
Indexed at end of each volume by author and subject. Text in English; lists of bibliographies in English and Japanese.
- Guide to Japanese Reference Books = Nihon no Sanko Tosho
Nihon no Sanko Tosho Henshu Iinkai, comp. Chicago: American Library Association, 1966.
Includes Sino-Japanese characters, their romanization, and English translation of each title. Based on the revised Japanese edition edited by the Compilation Committee in the Library of the International House of Japan. Comprehensive in subject coverage, annotated, provides cross references, and indexed.
- Selected List of Books and Articles on Japan in English, French, and German
Borton, Hugh, comp. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1954.
Nearly 1800 annotated entries, and indexed by author, title and subject.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
[Ann Arbor, MI]: Association for Asian Studies, 1971- .
This annual publication is a continuation of the Bulletin of Far Eastern Bibliography and the Far Eastern Bibliography.
The bibliography is arranged primarily by geographic area of Asia and second by a classified list of subject headings. It includes periodical articles and monographs, published in the United States and elsewhere. It is comprehensive in subject coverage, and indexed by personal names of authors, editors, and translators.
For the author index, use theCumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1941-1965. Author Bibliography and theCumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1966-1970: Author Bibliography; for the subject index, use the Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies: Subject Bibliography.