Biographies & Directories
- Who's Who in Japanese Government
Tokyo: I.C.A. of Japan, 1986- . Annual. (Latest edition in Reference; earlier years in Serials.)
1990-1991 edition is the latest edition in the library. This handbook is designed to provide basic and up-to-date information on Japanese politics and government. It contains three branches of the government and their functions, brief biographical data on members of both house of the Diet, listings of all govern ministries, agencies, and their personnel, all the Diet Committees and their composition, as well as the major political parties in Japan.
- Roberts' Guide to Japanese Museums
Roberts, Laurence P. Tokyo: Kodansha International, 1978.
This guide is a revision of the Connoisseur's Guide to Japanese Museums. The listing is limited to those museums of art and archaeology within reasonable access to the normal traveller in Japan. Glossary and indexes are given by Japanese names, and branch museums and other collections by prefectures and by types of collections.
- Guide to East Asian Collection in North America, U.S. and Canada
Lee, Thomas H., comp. New York: Greenwood, 1992.
This guide focuses on East Asian collections in general research and public libraries, and a few special libraries. Arranged by alphabetical order of the parental institution. A list of the collections by geographical areas gives readers an idea of distribution of the East Asian resources in the whole region. It provides area of strength of the collection.
- Japan Company Handbook. First Section
Tokyo: Toyo Keizai Shinposha, 1987- . Semiannual. (Latest edition in Reference; earlier years in Serials.)
This publication is a continuation of Japan Company Handbook. First Section Firms, Japan Company Handbook and Japan Company Directory. The first section provides the financial information on all Japanese corporations listed on the First Sections of the Tokyo, Osaka and Nagoya stock exchanges. Text is arranged by the securities code numbers, and indexed by the names in alphabetical order. The names are given in English and in Japanese.
- Japan Company Handbook
Second Section. Tokyo: Toyo Keizai Shinposha, 1987- . (Latest edition in Reference; earlier years in Serials.)
This edition is a continuation of Japan Company Handbook. Second Section Firms, Japan Company Handbook, and Japan Company Directory. The second section provides the financial information on all Japanese corporations listed on the Second Sections of the Tokyo, Osaka and Nagoya stock exchanges. Arranged in the same way as the First Section (see entry above). It also includes information on local market, OTC & unlisted companies.
- Japanese Overseas Investment = Kaigai Shinshutsu Kigyo Soran
Tokyo: Oriental Economist, 1981- .
The information are based on survey on Japanese corporations, both listed and unlisted on the nation's stock exchanges.
- Overseas Japanese Studies Institutions = Kaigai Nihon Kenkyu Kikan
Fukuoka, Japan: Fukuoka UNESCO Association, 1984.
1980 and 1984 editions supplement one another. Text is in English, and information about institutions located in Korea are given in Japanese. Arranged in alphabetical order by the countries. The 1980 edition is indexed by the names of Japanese studies specialists.
- Japanese Studies in the United States. Part II. Directory of Japan Specialists and Japanese Studies Institutions in the United States and Canada
2 vols. Tokyo: Japan Foundation, 1989.
ASU Library does not own the Japanese Studies in the United States, History and Present Condition Part I.. Part II is a comprehensive directory. Vol. 1 covers 1420 specialists and 441 current doctoral candidates. Vol. 2 has institutional information and index.
- Biographical Dictionary of Japanese History
Iwao, Seiichi, ed. Tokyo: Kodansha International, 1978.
Sketches several hundred important figures in Japanese culture and history, arranged by major time periods, and has an extensive bibliography. The index includes all personal names mentioned in the sketches.
- Japan Biographical Encyclopedia & Who's Who
2nd ed. Tokyo: Japan Biographical Research Dept., Rengo, 1961.
Emphasizing historical coverage, this includes approximately 14,500 individuals. Arranged alphabetically. Also included are: modern prefectual map, pre-modern provincial map, pre-modern district map, modern district map, and map of principal Japanese cities. Descriptions on these maps are in English; names of individuals are in English and in Japanese. Appendices include: chronology with brief historical description since 660 B.C. to 1960 A.D.; glossary (table of emperors & era, and table of shoguns); foreign service (Japanese diplomatic representatives abroad and table of post-war diplomatic relations); and cabinet of Japan.