Japanese Studies

Access to various reference sources in Japan including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Progressive Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionaries, GendaiYogo No Kiso Chishiki, Nihon Jinmei Daijiten, recent issues of the Economist Japanese edition, collection of Toyo Bunko series and other visual and sound databases.

Includes Asian historical records, diplomatic records, defense studies.

Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts, with Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts.

This is an electronic version of one of the essential dictionaries of Japanese history.

Online database version of the 50 volumes of Japanese historical gazetteer, published by Heibonsha. Includes 200,000 headings with detailed explanation of the place name. Continuously updated. Rand McNally World Atlas, Map of Edo Period Places, Historical Reconstruction Map within Japanese Historical Gazetteers.

CiNii is a database service which can be searched with academic information of articles, Books, Journals & Dissertations.
It is available free of charge for anyone.

Japanese Institutional Repositories Database. Full text of theses and dissertations submitted after 2014 are available.

Dissertations received between 1991 and 2000 are available in full text.

provinces various online materials such as rare books, audio-visual materials and the materials whose copyrights has expired.

"NDL Search" is an integrated search service of catalogs and digital archives including libraries, archives, museums, academic institutes and the National Diet Library.

ABI/INFORM Complete™ is a comprehensive business database of articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. Full text and images included for selected articles. Some Business Cases are now included. ABI/INFORM Complete consists of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive, The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from several hundred U.S. and international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Business NewsBank, Global NewsBank, and NewsBank NewsFile have merged into Access World News.

Indexes trade journals & regional business newspapers. Includes company directory information & investment reports. Use for Finance, Acquisitions & Mergers, Trade, Money Management, Local & Regional Trends, Investments, Banking, etc.

Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, & news transcripts.

It is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

This database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

Provides worldwide, networked, subscription access to the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers in the the fields of literature and criticism,history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Full-text to entire Cambridge University Press journals package.

Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also contains citations and abstracts to masters' theses. Covers approximately 3,000 subject areas.

Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects.