Use the "Alert", "RSS Feed", and "Saved Search" features within databases, journals and news-sites to keep up to date on your topic.
There's no need for you to continually rerun searches in databases nor do daily checks in your favorite journals. You can have databases, journals and news sites automatically alert you to new material that is available on your topic/area of research
How you set up an alert, feed or save a search will vary. In most cases you'll be required to set up a personal account or profile with the journal or database --- there is no charge for this but you will have to identify yourself and provide an email address.
Note: results from email alerts and rss feeds should be used while on-campus as the full-text links in the alerts/feeds will not work from off-campus; to access the full text of articles/journal alerts from off-camus, use the Libraries' Journal Title Lookup.
The Saved Search feature is most likely to be found in indexing databases. Everytime the database is updated with new material, your search will be run against the new material. You'll be sent an email with the citations for all the new material that matches your search.
The links on these emails will only be usable from on-campus - sometimes there will be just one link that takes you to the whole list of your results within the database or each item in your email will have a link back to the item's record within the database. Once in the database, use the "full text", "PDF", or "Get It @ ASU" links to get to the full text of the item.
How to Set Up a Saved Search
To set up a saved search, you usually create and perform the search you'd like to save. Then look for a link or button for "Saved Searches"; if one is not available, look under headings such as "My Profile", "My Account" or "My Settings". In some databases, saved searches are called "Alerts". To receive an email alert you will have to register for a personal account with the database - registration is free.
Instructions for specific databases:
Scopus (journal articles from most subject areas)
Will send email notification if a specific article has been recently cited.
Alerts are used mostly by journals to send you an email notification when a new issue has been released. The email will usually replicate the table of contents with a link to each item within in the issue but could be just a simple link to the issue as a whole. Results from email alerts should be used while on-campus as the full-text links in the email will not work from off-campus; to access the full text of articles/journal alerts from off-camus, use the Libraries' Journal Title Lookup.
How to Set up a Journal Alert
For each journal from which you want an alert, go to the journal's website using the Libraries' Journal Title Lookup. On the site, look for a link or button for "Alerts"; if one is not available, look under headings such as "My Profile", "My Account" or "My Settings". Many journals have some form of alerting service, but it varies from publisher to publisher and sometimes even titles from the same publisher may have different features available.
RSS Feeds were originally used to send news items which are short and occur frequently. Many journals and databases are now offering RSS Feeds as an alternative to sending email alerts.
Feeds are more flexible than emails but require "feed reader" software on your end. Most web browsers have a feed reader; for example, Internet Explorer handles feeds within "Favorites", and a feed can be embedded within a web page. Some sections within "My ASU" will handle feeds (Announcements box, "My stuff" area) and for those who use MicroSoft Outlook for email, RSS feeds are in the same mail section as your InBox, Sent, and Deleted Folders.
The feed symbol looks like this:
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.