ENG 200: Critical Reading and Writing About Literature
Most Useful Literature Indexes
- MLA Bibliography, 1963--This is THE index for language and literature. Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.
- Literature Online (LION)Includes full text of original creative works in American and English literature, plus criticism from ABELL, a standard British database and index.
- Literature Resource Center (LRC)Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism. A good beginning index for literature. The biographies are a especially useful.
- Periodicals Index OnlineAn electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in thehumanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed. 1700-1995
- World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineShakespeare citations from 1968 to 2003.
- Salem Literature: Critical Insights SeriesCollections of essays on well-know authors and their works.
General Indexes with Literary Content
The first two Academic Search Premier and Humanities Full Text are the most useful for starting research.
- Academic Search Premier, 1975--Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals. Good coverage of literature.
- Periodicals Index Online, 1700-1995An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Includes some journals in full text.
Link to Literature Research Databases
- Literature DatabasesHere you will find ALL of the Libraries' online indexes and databases with literature content.
Dive in and see everything we have to offer!
Library One Search
Library One Search is the best starting point for your research. It is like a Google search for resources in the ASU Library. You will retrive books, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, media and anything else that may be relevant from the Libraries' collections. A majority of items you retrieve include links to the full text online.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
