Login to LibApps


Greater Arizona Collection: Description and Overview

Online tools and resources for research on Arizona and the Southwest

Description and Overview

The Greater Arizona Collection includes a variety of primary and secondary sources that document the diverse cultural and political history of the region. These collections contribute to and offer a greater understanding of the history and the communities in the area over time. Inclusive historical dates range from the 19th century to the present, with the bulk of collections dating to the 20th and 21st centuries.

Collection materials include published items, personal papers, organizational and business records, congressional and political papers, and a myriad of resource materials on Arizona and the Southwest. These collections can include photographs, audio-visual materials, subject files, minutes of meetings, scrapbooks, and other related items.

Greater Arizona Collection subjects reflect the wide range of materials collected and people represented, including politics, mining and labor history, water and land management, and organizational histories.

Curator

Renee James's picture
Renee James
Contact:
480-965-9279

Access to Collections and Research Requests

Research Online

Research tools are available online, and there are thousands of digital images, texts and videos available online too! Save time and check out our online content and online tools! Be sure to search the ASU library catalog, Arizona Archives Online, and ASU's Digital Repository.

Questions and Requests

Questions about Greater Arizona collections and requests can be submitted via Ask an Archivist

Access to Collections

To view materials in this collection, please make an appointment at least five business days prior to your visit by contacting Ask an Archivist or calling (480) 965-4932.

Appointments in the Distinctive Collections Wurzburger Reading Room at Hayden Library (rm. 138) on the Tempe campus are available on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Wednesday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; and Friday from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Note: All library reading rooms are currently closed as part of the ASU Library’s COVID-19 response. Ask an Archivist is available Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–5 p.m., for reference assistance regarding collection materials.

Access Policies and Restrictions

We strive to make our collections as open and accessible as possible. Some archival collections include fragile materials or sensitive information protected by federal and state privacy laws. Individual use agreements protect the privacy of individuals represented in our collections. 

Did You Know?

Park Central Mall was the first shopping mall in Phoenix; opened in 1957. Be sure to take a look at the Park Central Mall Collection.

Hours and Locations