Urban Planning Resources

Find key resources for urban planning research including databases, journals, census data, GIS tools, historic maps, and citation help. Essential for students and researchers in planning, urban design, sustainability, and related fields.

Finding books

Finding books on urban planning

Use ASU Library Catalog search to find books:

Try searches like: "urban planning", "city planning", "urban design", "sustainable cities", "transportation planning".

Filter by: Books, Available Online, or at specific ASU libraries

Recommended subject headings:

City planning
Urban policy
Land use--Planning
Urban transportation
Sustainable development

Search tips for urban planning research

Start broad, then narrow:

Begin with general terms like "affordable housing"
Add specifics: "affordable housing policy Phoenix"
Use database subject terms for precision

Key search terms:

Urban planning, city planning, regional planning
Urban design, placemaking, built environment
Zoning, land use, and comprehensive planning
Smart growth, new urbanism, transit-oriented development
Gentrification, urban renewal, and community development

Boolean operators:

AND narrows results: "housing AND affordability"
OR expands results: "urban OR city planning"
NOT excludes terms: "planning NOT wedding"

Background research sources and encyclopedias

Start here for topic overviews and context:

Oxford Reference

Combines encyclopedias and scholarly reference works from Oxford University Press into a single, cross-searchable resource.
Britannica Academic

Includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, world atlas, timelines, "This Day in History," and world data analysis, with articles, illustrations, definitions, and curated links reviewed by Britannica editors. Includes AI assistant ASK Britannica.
Gale eBooks

A searchable collection of cross-curricular nonfiction titles, including encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized references for multidisciplinary research.