ARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
Need More Help?
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Homepage http://lib.asu.edu/labriola
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask-An-Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Librarian Contact Information
Recommended Research Databases for Journal Articles
- American Indian History OnlineA unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
- Art Full TextIndexes articles on art from periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaCovers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Find Books and Articles
Nearby Arizona Museums
Luhrs Reading Room
http://www.asu.edu/lib/archives/
Luhrs Reading Room Hayden Library 4th floor
Hours Monday-Friday 9-6 and Saturday by appointment
To make a Saturday appointment please contact the Luhrs reading room prior to 10AM on the previous Friday
Contact the Luhrs reading room (480) 965-4932 or email: archives@asu.edu
Fred Harvey Archival Material and Basketry Photographs and Ephermera
Arizona Archives Online online finding guides for archival collections in the state of Arizona
Arizona Historical Foundation archive on the fourth floor of Hayden Library
Arizona and Southwest Collection and the Labriola Center
- American Indian Index
Part of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian inAlaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection.
- Special Materials Index
Indexes the Arizona, Chicano, VisualLiteracy, Univ. Archives, & Labriola Center collections. Covers ephemeral material, photos, biographies, oral histories, manuscripts, etc. Includes items in Arizona Historical Foundation & Hayden Library.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
