ENG 359 Indigenous American Literature
Need More Help?
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Homepage http://lib.asu.edu/labriola
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask-An-Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Recommended Research Databases
- American Indian History OnlineA unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
- American Indian IndexIncludes all photographs, oral histories, newsclippings, reports, biography files, etc. in the Labriola Center collection.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaGeneral database for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations - link to full text through Get it ASU
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspaper articles, including Indian Country Today, very contemporary information, full text
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Humanities Full TextIndexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications,language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
- Literature OnlineIncludes fully-searchable texts, reference works, bibliographies, catalogues, & links to relevant websites. Includes American Poetry; English Bible; Shakespeare; English Drama & Poetry; Biographical Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia; Dictionary, etc.
- MLA BibliographyIndexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.
- Project MuseCan browse recommended journals such as Wicazo Sa Review, SAIL (Studies in American Indian Literature), and American Indian Quarterly
Find Books and Articles
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
