Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Forensics

This guide is designed to support student research in the Forensics program at Arizona State University.

How to Use RefWorks

RefWorks (https://libguides.asu.edu/refworksdb), a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files.

Signing up

To use RefWorks, users must sign up for an individual account. First,
log in to ASU. You will be directed to the RefWorks page, where you sign up for individual account at the top of the gray column on the left hand side.  

Creating Folders

 Everyone affiliated with ASU (faculty, students and staff) can use RefWorks. Users may have many RefWorks accounts, but it is advised to create folders and name them for a specific ongoing project. Go to New Folder.

Importing citations into RefWorks  

Visit the following websites to import to RefWorks:

When importing into RefWorks from ASU Library databases, a Get It @ ASU sign will appear with the record, which will allow users to locate the article.

For more information about RefWorks, visit http://lib.asu.edu/help/refworks.

Managing RefWorks and Creating Bibliography

 

When users export articles from indexes owned by the ASU Library, the citations will appear in the Last Imported folder. Check the records and put them in the appropriate folder by using the Folders command on the top of the screen.

To create bibliography, take the following steps:

  1. Click on Bibliography on the top gray bar.
  2. Choose the style under the Output Style (e.g., APA – American Psychological Association, 5th Edition).
  3. Choose the format of the document (e.g., HTML, Word) using the dropdown menus under File Type to Create
  4. Choose the folder you want from the dropdown menus under Include to create bibliography.
  5. Click on Create Bibliography.

Note: If you choose Word format, the file will appear at the bottom of your computer.

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.

Academic Integrity

General information about academic integrity for all ASU students

Academic Integrity guidelines specific to graduate students in their role as student, teaching assistant and scholar.

Hours and Locations