Ask a Librarian provides help with using library and internet resources. The Ask a Librarian staff can help you with:
Locating a specific item, such as book or a journal article that your instructor has asked you to read
Finding books and articles about a particular topic
Differentiating between popular, trade and scholarly articles
Creating effective search strategies
Using the advanced features of library resources
And don't forget, you can contact the librarian for this class directly ---> see Roger and Linda's contact info in the right-hand column.
Finding the full text of an article from a citation
Books and journal articles can be found in the ASU Library's "Library One Search" database. Start at the Libraries' home page (http://lib.asu.edu) or from "My ASU" and enter the titleof the book or article in the search box.
Using quote marks("") around the title will limit results just to items with that exact phrase. For long titles, entering just the first 4-6 words may be sufficient.
The item you want will most likely show up as the first (or only item) in the results list.
Click on either the title or the "full text online" link
If your article is not in the Library One Search database, return to the Libraries home page (or My ASU) and click on the "Journals Title" dropdown menu next to the Library One Search box.
Enter the title of the journal in the first search box and if the journal is listed for the year you need, use the citation information for the volume, issue and page to follow the links through to where that article is located.
Still can't find the journal? Return the Libraries' home page (or My ASU) and click again on the "Journals" tab above the Library One Search box.
Enter the title of the journal in the second search box to see if the Libraries have it available in print or microfilm.
If the journal is not still not found, use the Interlibrary Loan service and the Libraries will obtain a copy of the article for you.
Using "Get It @ ASU" to find the full text of an article
Most databases will have the yellow "Get It @ ASU" button on each entry - if there is no link to the full text from the entry (or if the full text link does not work) use "Get It @ ASU"
If the Libraries have the article you need available online, there will be a link to the article provided.
If the Libraries do not have the article available online, under "More Options" you'll be given a link to search the title in the Catalog for a print or microfilm copy, and
Option #2 will be a link to the Interlibrary Loan service (the computer will usually fill in the form for you).
The "Get It @ ASU" service was originally created to work only with journal articles; it can do that quite well and it is almost always correct. However, when working with books, conference proceedings and other non-article documents, "Get It @ ASU" has difficulty withthe peculiarities of those formats and is not always able to give an accurate assessment of the items availablity. For non-article documents, always check the Library One Search databse and/or the Libraries' Catalog by hand before submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services
If the journal article you need is not available in the ASU Library (or its only available in print or microfilm in a library on a different campus), we'll provide you with a free pdf copy of the article. You may either:
Use "Get It @ ASU" Option #2: Request Through Interlibrary Loan link, OR
The first time you use the Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery service, you must register by clicking on the red, "First Time Users" link on the log-in page.
For more details ee our ILL/Document Delivery guide. If you have any questions or difficulties with any of these Document Delivery services please contact our staff at 480-965-3282 or at ASU-ILL@asu.edu.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.