Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


SLC 494 / SPA 494 / JST 494

Latin American Jewish Culture

Finding Journal Articles

Jewish Studies / Latin American Studies

Jewish Studies Source: Covers several hundred full-text titles, including leading Jewish Studies academic journals, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers.

Index to Jewish Periodicals (1988+): Covers English-language articles and book reviews in Jewish thought, contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Some full-text.

PRISMA: Comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. 

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI): Articles (some full-text) covering entire region of Latin America and Latinas/os in the United States.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS): Annotated bibliography edited by the Library of Congress's Hispanic Division. Limited full text; search for titles in ASU Library Catalog.


Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier: Also known as Ebscohost. Covers a wide variety of journals in all subject areas. Also covers a lot of popular magazines that are not research-based, so be sure to click the box for "scholarly peer reviewed articles". Use the "advanced search" option to search more effectively.

Historical Abstracts: Includes articles (many full text) and bibliographic and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.

JSTOR: Good coverage of important journals in many disciplines, useful for interdisciplinary research. Note that is an archive, not a source of current literature. Most journals included in JSTOR will not have the last few years included.

MLA International Bibliography:  Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Project Muse: Full-text access to journals in humanities and social sciences (International scope).

Google Scholar: Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Covers a wide variety of journals in all subject areas; however, it is not comprehensive and unfortunately there is no way to limit to peer-reviewed materials. There are also no abstracts to view. Use the "advanced search" option to focus your search more effectively.

A-Z List Quick Link: Links to full list of databases available through ASU Library.

Strategies for Successful Searching

  • Relevant articles may or may not use the actual phrase "Jewish Latin America". 
  • Be creative when deciding on keywords to search. Think about different ways to describe what you're looking for. For example, a search for articles on "sitting too close to someone" might be called "personal space" in an academic journal article.
  • Link concepts with the word AND. For example, a good way to find articles on how people feel about the death penalty would be to search: public opinion and death penalty 
  • Adding an asterisk at the end of a word will get alternative word endings. A search on Jew* will find both the words Jewish and Jews (Note that this does not work in Google Scholar).
  • If there are different ways to say the same thing, consider using the linking word OR. For example, death penalty is also often referred to as capital punishment. To make sure you find all of the relevant articles, you can search it like this: death penalty or capital punishment
  • Click on the tab or check the box that says "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly". This will make sure you get the kind of research that you probably need for your assignment.

Hours and Locations