Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


COM 353 Business and Professional Communications

This guide provides library resources for background research on a wide range of topics.

E-Reference Sources

SAGE Knowlege

E-Reference Sources

Finding News, Magazine and Scholarly Articles

 


ProCon Resources


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints provides essays supporting differing points of view for each topic. If you don't see your topic listed, you can search by keyword. 

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial 4:15

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news. It is the most reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.

This link takes you to the CQ Library, from there select CQ Researcher.


News and Magazine Articles


Academic Search Premier
This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.  SELECT Magazines as your limit.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis also includes newspapers from around the world, including the New York Times.

Alt-PressWatch 
Get a different point of view! Find full-text articles from alternative press news resources. 

Arizona Republic
Great place to find fulltext articles from the local newspaper.

Times Topics      
Browse topics with links to New York Times articles. 

Library OneSearch
Offers in-depth coverage of all subject areas. Be sure to choose newspapers, and magazines.

Hours and Locations