Login to LibApps

CED 501 / CPY 702: Research and Evaluation in Counseling: Article Databases

Subjects: Psychology
Tags: counseling

Article Databases

PsycInfo: Covers ALL areas of psychology and related fields. Includes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. If you only want to search for peer-reviewed journals, that's an easy option to click. Once you do a search, there are multiple ways to limit and focus your search further; some of these include limiting by publication year, age of population, gender, or research methodology.

Google Scholar: Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive and there are no summaries or abstracts. Especially useful for cited reference searching, i.e. finding articles that have cited a certain article. Use the Advanced Search option for best results. Get to the advanced search screen by clicking on the down arrow at the end of the search box. For more suggestions on how to use Google Scholar effectively go here: Google Scholar Techniques.

Dissertations & Theses: Identifies doctoral dissertations and masters theses, includes some international but mostly U.S and Canada; full text PDF files online for most doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses

Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Web of Science (sometimes known as Social Science Citation Index): interdisciplinary, useful functions include cited reference searching and finding related records

Social Services Abstracts: more social work than counseling, but the two areas sometimes do overlap

 

Your Librarian

JoAnn Mulvihill's picture
JoAnn Mulvihill
Contact:
Need help? Call me at 480-965-3081 or send me an email. My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1N.

Subjects: Psychology, Sociology, Family and Human Development, Counseling and Counseling Psychology
My Profile and Guides

Hours and Locations