TCL 351 - Transborder Art: Chicano/Latino Art and Culture: Welcome
Course Description
This course will contextualize beliefs, ideologies, historical events, symbols, and images in Chicano/a and Latino/a art and culture. Particular themes and issues that will be addressed: politics of identity, U.S. citizenship, gender roles, cultural traditions, political activism for social justice, U.S. politics, and the U.S.-Mexico Border.The course looks closely at the making of art history through museum exhibitions. Genres will include painting, sculpture, graphic work, film, and multiple media including digital art, television, and the internet.
Librarian
Chicano/a Research Collection
Use the Special Materials Index and Arizona Archives Online to find archival material.
Search Tip: When you're looking for material, use different search terms like: Chicano, Hispanic, Mexican American, Latino, Art, Identity, Politics, Civil Rights, Culture, etc.
- Xico Inc. RecordsThis collection focuses on the history of Chicano/a artistic expression in Arizona. Xico was formed to promote a greater understanding and appreciation of Chicano/a and indigenous cultures through community based arts programs.
- Movimiento Artístico del Río Salado (MARS) RecordsIn 1978, MARS was formed by a unique group of Chicano/a and Native artists during the First Annual Floricanto Culture Week. Their mission was to establish a gallery space for underrepresented artists in the Southwest and to increase opportunities for Chicano/a artists.
- Murals EphemeraMay include pamphlets, small manuscripts, newspapers and newsletters, biographies, broadsides, etc.
Films
Use ASU Library Catalog, Academic Video Online, Films on Demand, or American History in Video to find films or documentaries.
- Chicano! : History of the Mexican American Civil Rights MovementA four part documentary. 1) Quest for a Homeland 2) The Struggle in the Fields 3) Taking Back the Schools 4) Fighting for Political Power
- Arizona History, A Chicano PerspectiveThree-part documentary traces Chicano heritage and influence in Arizona.
- In search of AztlánThis film follows Culture Clash as they search for the mythical Aztlán, an ancient homeland of the Aztec people believed to be located somewhere in the Southwest.
Databases
- Arizona Memory ProjectProvides access to digitized archival material.
- American SongProvides access to an online music database.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)Provides access to journals, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.
- Contemporary World MusicProvides access to music from different regions.
- Music Index OnlineProvides access to book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
- American Film ScriptsProvides access to database of directors, writers, and movies.
- Play IndexProvides access to contemporary playwrights and historical plays.
- Theatre in VideoContains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Books
Use the ASU Library Catalog or eBooks on EBSCOhost to find books.
Drink Cultura by Call number: E184.S75 B85 1993
Chicano Art Inside/Outside the Master's House by Call number: N6538.M4 G37 1998
Chicano Art for Our Millennium by Call number: N6538.M4 K45 2004
Latino USA by Call number: PN6725 .S73 2012
Latino/a Popular Culture by Call number: E184.S75 L3554 2002
The Cisco Kid by Call number: PN1995.9.C5125 N48 2008
Newspapers & Journals
- Arizona Digital Newspaper ProgramProvides access to digitized Arizona historical newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersProvides access to articles from the Arizona Republican.
- Latin American NewspapersProvides access to a collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America.
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)Provides access to Spanish-English newspapers printed in U.S.
- Hispanic American Periodicals IndexProvides access to an index of articles in journals.
- PRISMAPublicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas: Provides access to journals in the social sciences and humanities.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
