Interdisciplinary Studies

This guide will provide resources for IDS and IDS-Organizational Studies students in the College of Integrative Sciences and Arts.

Interdisciplinary library resources

Academic Search Ultimate

Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
Access World News

Full-text content from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and business magazines, providing diverse viewpoints on local and global issues.
Dissertations & Theses Global

A collection of full-text dissertations and theses featuring millions of searchable citations from 1861 to present. It includes over a million downloadable PDFs, full text for most entries since 1997, and comprehensive coverage of older works, including PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Google Scholar (with Library Links)

Find scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, pre-prints, technical reports, and other publications for all research disciplines. The link enables ASU affiliates to include ASU Library’s full text and InterLibrary Loan Services in a search.
Policy Commons

Access to global grey literature, including reports, papers, and datasets from think tanks, NGOs, and policy groups, supports research in public policy and social sciences.
Policy Commons includes a cross-search for the following modules:
- Global Think Tanks
  Search policy research and analysis from leading think tanks worldwide on international and domestic issues.
- North American City Reports
  Urban policy documents and reports from North American cities on climate change, public health, and social equity.
- Public Health and Social Care
  Find global research, policy, and reports on health systems, social care, and population well-being.
- World Cities and Local Governments
  Explore reports, plans, and data from city halls, councils, and regional governments around the globe.
- World Governments
  Access national government publications, data, and policy documents from countries across the world.
Scopus

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, proceedings, and patents. It offers tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and collaboration. Includes AI assistant: Scopus AI, for enhanced research with natural language searches, summaries, and expert identification.
Statista

A statistics portal that integrates data on markets, industries, media, business, finance, politics, population, opinion, lifestyles and a wide variety of other areas of interest. Provides ready-made charts, graphs, and tables. Includes AI assistant: ResearchAI

Is this article peer-reviewed?

ASU Library Tutorial - Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
This tutorial is designed to help developing scholars at Arizona State University build important skills and knowledge for their scholar's tool kit. This lesson will focus on what a peer reviewed journal article is, how to find one using the ASU Library One Search features and where to verify one with Ulrichsweb.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Database of in-depth information about more than 300,000 periodicals/serials of all types: scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, magazines, newsletters and newspapers. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, and reviews written by librarians.

more... less...

Also called Ulrichsweb

How to use Ulrich to learn if an article is peer reviewed

Ulrichsweb

Comprehensive details on over 300,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, e-journals, magazines, and newspapers. Entries feature ISSN, publisher, language, subject, indexing coverage, full-text availability, and librarian reviews.

Use Ulrichs Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out

if an article is from a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal
if this article (journal) is popular or scholarly
general information about magazine or journal

The symbol to the right indicates a journal is peer reviewed in Ulrichsweb: