Film
For Access to Film Collections
Many film collections do not have finding aids available online. However, there are many print finding aids located in the Luhrs Reading Room in Hayden Library. The Accession Records of Special Collections also provides brief descriptions of unprocessed film-related collections. Contact Archivist Harold Housley for more information about film collections.
About the Film Collections
Spanning the history of American film, theatre and television, the collection features theatre and movie playbills, film press kits and materials from many notable personalities in the American performing arts.
- Blakely, Gene Collection
- Derr, Richard Papers
- Eells, George Papers
- Lawford, Peter Papers
- Leslie, Dorée Papers
- Motion Picture Poster Collecton
- Motion Picture Press Kits
- Newsweek Video Archives
- Phonograph Records Collection
- Salerno, Nicholas Film Collection
- Singer, Stan Collection
- Star Wars Collection
- Spada, James Papers
- Starr, Jimmy Papers
- Wizard of Oz Collection
Star Wars Collection
The Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection houses Nicholas A. Salerno’s collection of publicity materials and merchandising products for the Star Wars film series from 1976-2005. The bulk of the materials focuses on the original trilogy released from 1977-1983 beginning with Star Wars (1977), which is commonly subtitled Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope; Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980); and Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983).
Included are press kits and promotional materials; journal, magazine and newspaper articles; still photographs; vinyl phonograph and magnetic tape audio recordings; digital, magnetic tape and film moving images; co-branded and licensed merchandising products; posters; and fabric textiles.
Some of the rare publicity materials include the white Revenge of the Jedi pre-release press kit, and two fold-out posters for Revenge of the Jedi. Merchandising realia include 130 action figures; and the Millennium Falcon, Dagobah and Ewok Village playsets.
Please see the Nicholas A. Salerno Star Wars Collection Finding Aid on Arizona Archives Online for more details. Please note that some boxes have restricted access to preserve the original items. To view restricted materials, please email Katherine Krzys.
Related Article
ASU Star Wars Collection at Hayden Library is a Trove of Jedi Wisdom, by Elizabeth A. Giudicessi, ASU Now
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
