Film
A guide supporting the study and production of Film across ASU.
Need more help?
Finding Movie-related sources in the ASU Library
This guide supports the study and production of motion pictures. See the navigation tabs on the left for information on film reviews and criticism, festivals, unique collections and other scholastic resources. Below are tips and links for searching for motion picture resources.
Motion Pictures: Research Topics Browse - https://libguides.asu.edu/motion-pictures
This valuable guide from Librarian Joe Buenker provides various alphabetical browsing lists focused on researching aspects of motion pictures - including actor, cinematographer and producer categories, plots, techniques, and themes.
Using the One Search
Use terms such as "Motion Pictures," "Film Criticism" and "Popular Culture" for books about movies. If your movie is famous enough, you can search for the title for books about the movie, or search for the director.
If looking for feature films on DVD (and VHS), perform a Keyword search for "feature films videorecording" and "feature films dvd." You will retrieve a list of all the feature films in DVD or VHS.
- ASU Print and Electronic Journal SubscriptionsBrowse over 1000 journal titles.
Key Film Databases
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1880 – 2015
EIMA is a digitized collection of primary source American and British periodicals focused on broadcasting, film, music, radio, television, theater and video games. With content dating back to 1880, it is the definitive source for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies to the present. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1972+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, many of which are seamlessly linked to a growing library of film journals. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects). Also included is The Treasures from the Film Archives dataset; a database containing credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world. - Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
American Film Scripts contains authorized versions of over 1000 screen plays with bibliographic information about the writers and movie characters. Researchers can browse by title or search scripts by character, scene, nationality, age, subject, or year of writing. - Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (DA-IK) This link opens in a new windowRenowned as one of Russia's premier journals of cinema, Iskusstvo kino offers more than Russian and foreign movie reviews, articles on filmmaking and cinema culture, criticism, and essays. Iskusstvo kino traces Russian arts and culture from the 'socialist realism' era through contemporary filmmaking
- Kanopy: Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
Since 1984, the Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest award-winning early cinema, foreign cinema and Hollywood films from around the world. This collection includes 590 films, presented uncut, as its maker intended it to be seen.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
This is an introduction to the specialized literature on topics within the field of Cinema and Media Studies. It includes contributions from scholars in cinema and media studies which carefully organize a thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1864+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) includes both abstracts/indexes and full text publications, and is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community.
- ASU Library Streaming VideoAll streaming videos in ASU Library's media collection are purchased or licensed content, limited to current authorized ASU students, faculty, and staff. (see the Accessing Licensed Electronic Resources page). While film distributors use a variety of hosting systems and platforms, please realize that some distributors do not provide their own hosting options. If the distributor provides a streaming license option, the ASU Library purchases and hosts the title internally on a case-by-case basis.
Key Reference Resources
The 1911-1960: American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in the United States by
The American Film Institute Catalog has won great praise for its comprehensiveness, reliability, and utility. These volumes are an essential purchase for every library, and individual researchers will also find them indispensable. The newest AFI Catalog volume contains over 2500 feature-length films with an emphasis on racial and national ethnic experience in the United States. Included are films from the 1940s and 1950s such as Giant, The Defiant Ones, Gentleman's Agreement, Bright Victory, and Broken Arrow. In addition to traditional "Hollywood" films, independent productions by African-American filmmakers and various ethnic and religious organizations are also given extensive treatments. This is the first of the AFI Catalog series to include films from more than one decade. Along with the film entries are several indexes, including personal names, ethnic group, subjects, and genre. As with other AFI Catalog volumes, full production credits, cast, plot summaries, notes, subject headings, song titles, and bibliographic citations are provided.
ISBN: 0520209648Publication date: 1997-10-01
Cinema Studies by
Ranging from Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan to Quentin Tarantino, and from auteur theory to the Hollywood Blockbuster, Cinema Studies: The Key Conceptshas firmly established itself as theessential guide for anyone interested in film. Covering an impressive range of key genres, movements, theories and production terms, this third edition includes a fully updated bibliography, and has been revised and expanded to include new topical entries such as: female masquerade silent cinema exploitation cinema art direction national cinema political cinema. Authoritative yet accessible, Cinema Studies: The Key Conceptsis undoubtedly a must-have guide to what is both a fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times.
Call number: PN1993.45 H36 2006ISBN: 9780415367813Publication date: 2006-04-12
Dictionary of Film Finance and Distribution by
This dictionary is an aid to anyone involved in seeking to finance a feature film project, especially independents. It covers terms used in film production and distribution, marketing, accounting, insurance, securities, corporate structures and general financial arenas. All of the principal forms of feature film finance are covered, including studio/distributors, production companies, lending institutions, co-financing, pre-sales, grants, foreign and passive investor financing involving the sale of a security.
ISBN: 0875869955Publication date: 2013-04-15
Dictionary of Film Terms by
Winner of the 2007 Choice Outstanding Academic Title. Now in its fourth edition, Frank Beaver's Dictionary of Film Terms has become an indispensable reference tool for the study of films and filmmaking. This trusted and practical handbook clearly and concisely defines the essential terms of film analysis, with a special focus on the aesthetic values of filmmaking. This updated, expanded edition covers areas as wide-ranging as digital cinema, direct-to-DVD, and polyphonic film, and includes numerous stills from classic and contemporary films. References to nearly 150 films not cited in previous editions have been added. Extensive cross-referencing among individual definitions ensures easy access to specific terms, and a comprehensive topical index relates to larger concepts of film art. This up-to-date and comprehensive resource is a useful companion for film students and filmgoers, who will find it illuminating in its range and clarity.
ISBN: 9781433104534Publication date: 2009-03-06
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film 3-Volume Set by
The Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film is a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' Workers Leaving the Lumière Factory (1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 (2004). This Encyclopedia provides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopedia examine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.
ISBN: 1579584454Publication date: 2005-10-27
How to Read a Film by
Richard Gilman referred to How to Read a Film as simply "the best single work of its kind." And Janet Maslin in The New York Times Book Review marveled at James Monaco's ability to collect "an enormous amount of useful information and assemble it in an exhilaratingly simple and systematic way." Indeed, since its original publication in 1977, this hugely popular book has become the definitive source on film and media. Now, James Monaco offers a special anniversary edition of his classic work, featuring a new preface and several new sections, including an "Essential Library: One Hundred Books About Film and Media You Should Read" and "One Hundred Films You Should See." As in previous editions, Monaco once again looks at film from many vantage points, as both art and craft, sensibility and science, tradition and technology. After examining film's close relation to other narrative media such as the novel, painting, photography, television, and even music, the book discusses the elements necessary to understand how films convey meaning, and, more importantly, how we can best discern all that a film is attempting to communicate. In addition, Monaco stresses the still-evolving digital context of film throughout--one of the new sections looks at the untrustworthy nature of digital images and sound--and his chapter on multimedia brings media criticism into the twenty-first century with a thorough discussion of topics like virtual reality, cyberspace, and the proximity of both to film. With hundreds of illustrative black-and-white film stills and diagrams, How to Read a Film is an indispensable addition to the library of everyone who loves the cinema and wants to understand it better.
Call number: PN1994 .M59 - Various EditionsISBN: 9780195321050Publication date: 2009-05-08
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by
1. Films -- 2. Directors -- 3. Actors and actresses -- 4. Writers and production artists.
ISBN: 1558624538Publication date: 2000-12-12
Latinx Ciné in the Twenty-First Century by
Today's Latinx motion pictures are built on the struggles--and victories--of prior decades. Earlier filmmakers threw open doors and cleared new paths for those of the twenty-first century to willfully reconstruct Latinx epics as well as the daily tragedies and triumphs of Latinx lives. Twenty-first-century Latinx film offers much to celebrate, but as noted pop culture critic Frederick Luis Aldama writes, there's still room to be purposefully critical. In Latinx Ciné in the Twenty-First Century contributors offer groundbreaking scholarship that does both, bringing together a comprehensive presentation of contemporary film and filmmakers from all corners of Latinx culture. The book's seven sections cover production techniques and evolving genres, profile those behind and in front of the camera, and explore the distribution and consumption of contemporary Latinx films. Chapters delve into issues that are timely, relevant, and influential, including representation or the lack thereof, identity and stereotypes, hybridity, immigration and detention, historical recuperation, and historical amnesia. With its capacious range and depth of vision, this timeless volume of cutting-edge scholarship blazes new paths in understanding the full complexities of twenty-first century Latinx filmmaking. Contributors Contributors Iván Eusebio Aguirre Darancou Frederick Luis Aldama Juan J. Alonzo Lee Bebout Debra A. Castillo Nikolina Dobreva Paul Espinosa Mauricio Espinoza Camilla Fojas Rosa-Linda Fregoso Desirée J. Garcia Enrique García Clarissa Goldsmith Matthew David Goodwin Monica Hanna Sara Veronica Hinojos Carlos Gabriel Kelly Jennifer M. Lozano Manuel M. Martín-Rodríguez J. V. Miranda Valentina Montero Román Danielle Alexis Orozco Henry Puente John D. "Rio" Riofrio Richard T. Rodríguez Ariana Ruiz Samuale Saldívar III Jorge Santos Rebecca A. Sheehan
ISBN: 9780816537907Publication date: 2019-09-24- Retrospective Index to Film PeriodicalsCall number: Z5784 .M9 B39
The Routledge Companion to Film History by
The Routledge Companion to Film History is an indispensable guide for anyone studying film history for the first time. The approach taken presents a substantial and readable overview of the field and provides students with a tool of reference that will be valuable throughout their studies. The volume is divided into two parts. The first is a set of eleven essays that approaches film history around the following themes: History of the moving image Film as art and popular culture Production process Evolution of sound Alternative modes: experimental, documentary, animation Cultural difference Film's relationship to history The second is a critical dictionary that explains concepts, summarizes debates in film studies, defines technical terms, describes major periods and movements, and discusses historical situations and the film industry. The volume as a whole is designed as an active system of cross-references: readers of the essays are referred to dictionary entries (and vice versa) and both provide short bibliographies that encourage readers to investigate topics.
Call number: PN1994 .R5735 2011 OnlineISBN: 9780415776561Publication date: 2010-10-20
The Routledge Companion to Philosophy and Film by
The Routledge Companion to Philosophy and Film is the first comprehensive volume to explore the main themes, topics, thinkers and issues in philosophy and film. The Companion features sixty specially commissioned chapters from international scholars and is divided into four clear parts: * issues and concepts * authors and trends * genres * film as philosophy. Part one is a comprehensive section examining key concepts, including chapters on acting, censorship, character, depiction, ethics, genre, interpretation, narrative, reception and spectatorship and style. Part two covers authors and scholars of film and significant theories Part three examines genres such as documentary, experimental cinema, horror, comedy and tragedy. Part four includes chapters on key directors such as Tarkovsky, Bergman and Terrence Malick and on particular films including Memento. Each chapter includes a section of annotated further reading and is cross-referenced to related entries. The Routledge Companion to Philosophy and Film is essential reading for anyone interested in philosophy of film, aesthetics and film and cinema studies.
ISBN: 9780203879320Publication date: 2008-10-27
A Short Guide to Writing about Film by
This best-selling text is a succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. With numerous student and professional examples along the way, this engaging and practical guide progresses from taking notes and writing first drafts to creating polished essays and comprehensive research projects. Moving from movie reviews to theoretical and critical essays, the text demonstrates how an analysis of a film becomes more subtle and rigorous as part of a compositional process.Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to film terms and the major film theories to enable them to write more critically.For individuals who want to think and write critically about film.
Call number: PN1995 .C66 2004ISBN: 0321096657Publication date: 2003-05-29
Teach Yourself - Film Studies by
Both film buffs and students of the cinema will find this reference indispensable. It gives a chronological overview of film, analyzing genres such as westerns and sci-fi; explores different artistic approaches, techniques, and effects; and profiles a wide variety of directors, from Alfred Hitchcock to Steven Spielberg.. . The book uncovers the secrets of film reviewing and the conventions reviewers adopt when they evaluate films. This new edition includes an expanded section concerning film studies on the Internet. Whatever readers' interest in film, Teach Yourself Film Studies will provide them with the skills to turn them into well-informed film critics..
Call number: PN1995 .B797 2003ISBN: 0071419616Publication date: 2003-01-14
The Transformation of Cinema by
The 10-volume, illustrated series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. Each volume focuses on a separate decade, providing a narrative on the evolution of both the business and the art of film in America. Each volume is heavily illustrated and ends with several indexes, notes, a bibliography and a variety of appendixes of top-grossing films, stars and Oscar winners, and more.
Call number: PN1993.5.U6 H55ISBN: 0684184141Publication date: 1990-12-01
Understanding Movies by
A readable, accessible introduction to film Understanding Movies provides valuable insight into how movies communicate and convey meaning to their audiences through a unique network of language systems and techniques. In a readable, accessible, and sometimes humorous manner, Understanding Movies engages students in the fascinating language of film and helps further their appreciation and understanding of why and how movie watchers respond as they do to different films. Organized around elements of film, the thirteenth edition of this market leading text provides students with a new way of looking at films that are familiar to them through contemporary coverage and a visually engaging presentation. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers will be able to: Understand film as an industry Discuss the impact of technology on the film industry
Call number: PN1994 .G47 2014ISBN: 9780205856169Publication date: 2013-06-26
Videohound's Golden Movie Retriever by
This work includes features such as - Title and alternate title(s); VideoHound's own rating; Year of release; Synopsis/review; Songs (where applicable); Run time; Format (VHS, DVD, letterboxed, etc.); Country of origin; Cast (inc. Voiceovers and cameos); Director, writer, cinematographer, composer, lyricist...; Awards; Made for TV, cable or video identification; plus, Nine indexes to help guide you to your favourite genre.
Call number: PN1992.95 .V554 2007 OnlineISBN: 0787689807Publication date: 2006-07-01- Dictionary of Film Finance and Distribution byISBN: 0875869955Publication date: 2013-04-15This dictionary is an aid to anyone involved in seeking to finance a feature film project, especially independents. It covers terms used in film production and distribution, marketing, accounting, insurance, securities, corporate structures and general financial arenas. All of the principal forms of feature film finance are covered, including studio/distributors, production companies, lending institutions, co-financing, pre-sales, grants, foreign and passive investor financing involving the sale of a security.
- Films by Genre byISBN: 0899507808Publication date: 1993-10-01Since the early days of cinema, there has been an insatiable demand for new product. As the number of movies increased, many began to resemble each other and fall into certain types of genres. Critics, filmmakers, and audiences have classified films into groupings for critical appraisal, easy identification of the subject, or a quick clue to the film's nature.From abstract through erotic, from new Chinese cinema or zombie films, 775 genres are included in this comprehensive reference work. Each entry includes a brief description of the category, the subgenres or related types of films, and a list of movies that best exemplify the genre, showing original title or titles, nationality (73 countries are represented), year of production, additional titles (working title, re-release title, translation, etc.) and director or filmmaker.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
