Comics and Graphic Novels
Journals
- Comics Journal
- IJOCA (International Journal of Comic Art)
- ImageTexT (content is online)
- gutter GEEK (content is online)
- The Journal of Popular Culture
Databases
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
A scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. The core of the collection are the comics and graphic novels themselves but accompanied by a collection of works about comics and graphic novels. Coverage is primarily North America from the 1960's to now. Valuable for students of the arts and culture.
Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
Encyclopedia/Reference
The World Encyclopedia Of Cartoons / Maurice Horn, Editor, Richard Marschall, Assistant Editor.
Call #: NC1325 .W67 1980b
The World Encyclopedia Of Comics / edited By Maurice Horn.
Call #: PN6710 .W6
Conferences
- Comic Arts Conference
Academic conference held in conjunction with Comicon International - Comics and Popular Arts Conference
Scholarly conference on all aspects of the comics industry - International Comic Arts Forum
Scholarly conference on all aspects of the comics industry
Conventions
- Comic-Con International
The original, in San Diego, held in October - New York Comic Con
A newcomer, since 2006, held in February - Comicon.com
A virtual convention - Wizard World
Possibly the largest pop culture convention ever, held in four US cities
Books
Comics and Sequential Art by ISBN: 0961472812
Wordless Books by ISBN: 9780810994690
Making Comics by ISBN: 0060780940
From Comic Strips to Graphic Novels by ISBN: 9783110281811
Guides
- Grand Comic Book Database
- The Comic Book Database
- Comics Research Bibliography
- Mercer County Library GN Page
- Richmond Heights Memorial Library GN Page
- Toonopedia
An encyclopedia of comic strips, comic books, and cartoons - Yale University Comic Books, Comic Strips, and Graphic Novels Page
- Library of Congress Comic Books Page
- Unofficial Guide to the DC Universe
Profiles of characters, places, and events in the DC Comics universe - No flying, No tights (teens)
- The Lair (teens/adults)
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
