Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


One Search

This guide includes instructions for using ASU Library One Search.

One Search Menu

One Search Menu

There are several helpful tools in the One Search menu. Click the right arrow to learn how you can use them to access additional library options and materials.

New Search

New Search

Click New Search to clear your search filters and begin a new search from the One Search home page.

Can't Find It?

Click Can't Find It? if you're having trouble finding or accessing a resource in One Search.  You'll see a One Search Help page with search tips, Interlibrary Loan, and error reporting options.

Databases

Databases

Click Databases to access over 600 databases that provide access to full-text articles and other materials.

Journal Search

Journals

Click Journals to access online or print journals by title.

Browse

Click Browse to browse our collections by subject, author, title, or call number.

How do I limit my search results?

Using Filters

Using Filters

Filters can be found on the right-hand side of the One Search interface. Click the right arrow to learn how you can make your search more precise with filters.

Availability

Availability

Use this filter to view items available in the library, full-text online, or peer reviewed.

Resource Type

Resource Type

Use this filter to select material types you want, including:

  • Books
  • Articles
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Audio Visual
  • Reference Entries

To exclude a "Resource Type" category, hover over the option and click on the red slashed checkmark that appears. A "Resource Type" option will not appear if there are no corresponding items in your results.

Library

Library

Use this filter to limit to a specific physical library location.

Other Filters

Other Filters

Use these filters to limit your search to the following:

  • Subject
  • Author/Creator
  • Publication Date

How do I use the advanced search box?

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Use the Advanced Search to limit your keyword search to specific fields, like title or author, and to narrow your search from the start by material type, language, and publication years.

Simplify your search options at any time by clicking on Simple Search on the right-hand side.

Select a Field

Select a Field

Click on the "Any field" drop-down menu to choose where Primo searches for your keywords in an item record. Options include:

  • Title
  • Author/creator
  • Subject (a main topic of the work)
  • Call number (LCC)
  • ISBN; ISSN (used for journals, newspapers, etc.)
  • OCLC number (used for item record in WorldCat)

Material Type

Search Material Type

Click on "All Items" in the drop-down menu to limit your search to a specific material type. Options include: books, articles, journals, images, and audio visual.

NOTE: This is an incomplete list. For more options, perform your search first and then use the Resource Type filter on the right of the results page.

How do I find a specific journal?

Journal Search

Click Journals in the top menu.  You will see a complete list of both electronic and print journals ASU Library has access to, in alphabetical order. Search by title or browse alphabetically by title by clicking the letters at the top of the page.

How do I find related content?

Primo virtual browse feature

Virtual Browse

To see related items, click on a title and scroll to the Virtual Browse section.  You can browse items "shelved" in the same subject area by clicking the left and right arrows.

Primo citation trails

Citation Trails

To view related articles, click an article title and scroll to the Citations section:

  • Click citing this to see a list of sources that cited the article.  
  • Click cited in this to see a list of sources cited within the article.

Related Reading

To discover related articles, click an article title and explore the Related Reading list on the right.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.