One Search
Need more help?
What is One Search?
One Search is our new library catalog and search tool, allowing you to search print and e-books, electronic resources, digital collections and more, all in one place.
How do I start searching?
Enter your search term
Search for journals, articles, books, magazines, and newspapers, all in one search! Type a keyword or phrase into the search bar and click the magnifying glass to perform the search.
Choose your search option
Once you perform an initial search, a scope menu will appear.
Choose what you're searching in One Search by using the dropdown menu next to the search box.
All Resources
Search millions of our resources, including print books, e-books, articles, media, maps, and more.
Millions, yes, but you won't find everything. To find additional resources, or for more focused searching, use our specialized databases.
ASU Library Catalog
Search books and other materials that physically reside at our library.
Course Reserves
Search materials selected by ASU faculty and instructors for use in specific courses.
What am I searching?
In One Search, you can select from four different pools of content ("scopes") to search within:
Expand My Results (checkbox at top right after you search)
Coverage: Citations we may not have access to, but can usually get through Interlibrary Loan.
Types of materials included: Everything in ASU Library Catalog and All Resources, as well as Primo Central Index content the library does not own
All Resources (default selection above search box)
Coverage: Everything in the ASU Library Catalog plus articles and some additional electronic items.
Types of materials included: Everything in ASU Library Catalog, articles, book chapters, conference papers, media items, newspaper articles, Primo Central Index content the library subscribes to, some Open Access resources, and some EBSCO content
ASU Library Catalog (select above search box)
Coverage: Print and electronic books, journals, databases, maps, government documents, dissertations, audiovisual items, and special collections that ASU Library owns.
Types of materials included: ASU Digital Repository items, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, databases, dissertations, e-collections, government documents, maps, media, microfilm, microfiche, newspapers by title, some special collections
EBSCO (select above search box)
Coverage: Items that ASU Library subscribes to provided by the third-party vendor, EBSCO.
Types of materials included: EBSCO articles, EBSCO e-books, EBSCO encyclopedia entries
I started my search. Now what?
Searching will bring you to the results page of One Search where you can sign in to your library account, narrow your search using filters, click on titles to see full details, pin items to your Favorites, and more.
Library One Search Tutorial
Why should I sign in?
Signing in will allow you to:
- View more complete search results
- Request books and articles from external libraries (InterLibrary Loan)
- Renew books and other library materials
- Create favorites lists
- Export citations to EndNote Web and other citation management tools
Why is there a separate Ebsco search scope?
For search results beyond the "ASU Library Catalog," the Library One Search uses a centralized index that encompasses hundreds of millions of records of global or regional significance that are harvested from primary and secondary publishers and aggregators. The number of records is constantly growing as additional data sources are added.
EBSCO does not send their metadata to be included in this central index. Instead, they require the system to do a separate call to their API (Application Programming Interface). Bringing these results back to the Library One Search and attempting to “blend” them in with the rest of the results from the central index causes significant issues with the accuracy of facet counts, relevancy ranking, and various browser timeout errors. Because of this, ASU Library has chosen to provide a separate search for EBSCO content.
Some EBSCO content is already available through our existing “All Resources” search. Common citations (for example, from Gale) may surface EBSCO full text in Primo.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
