Research Success for High School Students
STEP 3: USE THE LIBRARY TO RESEARCH ARTICLES AND INFORMATION
SUMMARY: Use guided keyword searching to find materials on your topic. Copy the article permalink/URL, or write down the citation (author, title, etc.) and the location information (call number and library) if you find a physical book on your topic. When you pull the book from the shelf, look at the bibliography for additional sources.
The database you select will depend on the topic you have chosen to research. Keep in mind that you will not stick with the same database for your entire research process. You will be using many different databases depending on the information you need to make a compelling argument. General databases, or multidisciplinary databases, are a good place to begin research, since they cover a broad range of topics. Subject databases are good for finding more specific information and are usually used in the middle or end of your research as your topic narrows.
Discipline Specific Database
Business
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1923+
Maximum concurrent users: Unlimited
This comprehensive business database merges the content of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition. It includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas as well as case studies, annual reports, Experian company credit information, country reports, industry reports, commodity reports, conference papers, and dissertations.
Communication
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1915+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database is a research and reference source in the fields of communication, journalism, and mass media. The database also covers some aspects of the field of advertising and related topics. The database indexes and abstracts journals and conference presentations.
Education
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Coverage: 6/1983+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 8
A fulltext database that covers topics such as teaching methods, literacy standards, adult and continuing education, classroom management, school administration and evaluation methods of both students and teachers. Content includes academic journals, trade publications, and magazines. - ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1966+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal and ERIC Document citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present. The collection includes articles from journal and non-journal education literature.Access Information: When using Get it @ ASU to retrieve ERIC Documents (those with an ED number), the feature may indicate full-text availability when the document is not available online. In many of these instances, users may get the document from the ERIC microfiche collection held in the Hayden Library. Users from campuses other than Tempe may request a digital copy of the microfiche document through ILLIAD.
History
- America: History and Life with Full TextCoverage: 1954+
Maximum concurrent users: Unlimited
America: History and Life with Full Text is comprised of journal articles, books and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present time. - Historical Abstracts with Full TextCoverage: 1954+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Database covers the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to present with indexing to historical articles from more than 1800 journals in over 40 languages published since 1955. Citations to books, dissertations and theses are included plus the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books. The related disciplines of archeology, anthropology and sociology are also covered.
Justice Studies
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1968+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text of journals related to criminal justice and criminology. Subjects covered include: corrections, prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences, investigation, substance abuse, addiction, probation, and parole.
Medicine and Health
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1950+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
An Abstract/Citation Database, PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLD MEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE. PubMed also indexes additional life science journal articles that submit full text to PubMed Central. - CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, offering extensive full-text coverage from top journals in the CINAHL index and over 50 nursing specialties. Includes instructional videos alongside quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research tools to support nursing education and practice.
Alternate titles: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Music
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1874+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
The Music Periodicals Database is a specialized online index of music journals supporting research of the world of music ranging from scholarly studies to popular music. It includes articles found in international music periodicals, and features music articles and obituaries appearing in prominent newspapers and other publications.Alternate titles: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) is one of the richest and most comprehensive full-text resources of scholarly music research.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1979-1998
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
It covers every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews,record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Political Science
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1972+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) is a combination of two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. The PAIS International database contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976 and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.This database covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. - Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1991+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Comprehensive full text source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers, journal articles; policy briefs and economic indicators; links and resources; maps and country data from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. This is an essential resource for serious research into International Affairs.Alternate titles: Columbia International Affairs Online
Psychology
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1887+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included. The database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles (mostly peer-reviewed), books, chapters, and dissertations.
Religion
- ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1949+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
A comprehensive database that includes articles from hundreds of journals and magazines and covers world religions, Biblical Studies, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations and full-text of articles, essays, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. - PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: 10
A comprehensive, multilingual database for research in Philosophy, covering journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by scholars. The content is arranged by topics in a structured bibliography that covers all subjects related to Philosophy and different philosophical traditions, as well as philosophy of specific disciplines (Biology, Mathematics, Social Science, Religious Studies, Language, etc.). The database is maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center.Alternate titles: Philosophy Documentation Center Collection
Science
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowCoverage: Varies
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ScienceDirect is an index to journal articles and book chapters from thousands of peer-reviewed journals and over 35,000 books published by Elsevier, its partner publishing units and other publishers, such as Cell Press. Access to full text is available only for those titles to which the ASU Library subscribes.Alternate titles: Elsevier's Science Direct - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Index to engineering journal articles and conference papers from the major engineering publishers. Engineering Village includes both the Compendex and Inspec databases. Use "Full Text" and "Get It @ ASU" links on each entry to determine if full text is available online.
Sociology
- SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines, such as gender studies, justice studies, economics, development, psychology, social work, and others. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. It is primarily journal articles with some books/ebooks, working papers, dissertations, and conference proceedings. It also includes author profiles of the most prolific authors.
Library OneSearch
OneSearch Help
For help navigating our Library One Search, visit the video and LibGuide below for a detailed walkthrough.
New Library One Search 2 from Deirdre Kirmis on Vimeo.
- Last updated: Jan 19, 2024 8:48 AM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/hsresearch
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
