HST 591: History of Economics & Business
Primary Sources for Business and Economics
- Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada"This is the Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada. This includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them, and libraries that contain business records."
- Fraser (Federal Reserve Archive)The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. financial system. A great resource for the economic history of the United States.
- History of Economic ThoughtA website dedicated to tracking economists, schools of economic thought and the history of economics. The major original works of each economist are listed.
Advertising Archives online
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
The Ad*Access presents historical images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
- AdViews This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of vintage television commercials from the ad agency D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). This database is hosted by the Duke University Libraries Digital Collections Program in partnership with the Hartman Center.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1850-1920
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Emergence of Advertising in America (EAA) presents over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States after World War I.It covers images, broadsides, leaflets, post cards, cook books, flyers, ephemera. - Medicine and Madison Avenue This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1910 - 1950
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project presents images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the first half of the 20th Century. The collection represents a wide range of products such as cough and cold remedies, laxatives and indigestion aids, and vitamins and tonics, among others. In addition to the advertisements themselves, the MMA website includes historical material -- non-graphical text-only documents -- that put health-related advertising into a broader perspective.
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. States included in this essential and invaluable digital repository are: Alabama; Arizona; California; Colorado; District of Columbia; Florida; Hawaii; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Minnesota; Missouri; Montana; Nebraska; New Mexico; New York; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Vermont; Virginia; Washington(state). For Further information concerning the history of American Newspapers, use the Library of Congress' US Newspaper Directory, 1690 - Present
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012 A searchable collection of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to present (with the exception of the last five years). Each weekly issue contains news reporting and analysis, commentary, editiorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Arizona Republican, 1890 - 1922; Atlanta Constitution 1868 - 1929; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender 1905 - 1975; ;ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant 1764 - 1984; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 1881 - 1985; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851-2003; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post 1877 - 1990
Provides full text coverage of the above newspapers for their respectives years. Taken as a whole, these newspapers provide excellent historical coverage geographically and nationally.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
