There are tools to help search through ASU Library’s general collections and many databases. Using Library Catalog Search, resources can be found by specifying call number ranges, subjects, title, author, or keyword. One very effective way to find information on brewing history in the United States is to use subject headings provided by the Library of Congress. Call numbers can help refine your search as well.
Useful Subject Headings for American Beer Brewing History
Below is a list of Library of Congress Subject Headings that can aid in catalog searches of the collection.
Brewing Industry -- Brewing Industry United States Brewing Industry Law and Legislation United States Beer Malt Liquors Antitrust Law Beer industry Liquor industry Alcoholic beverage industry Malt liquors Law and Legislation United States Temperance Brewing Industry United States Periodicals Liquor Industry United States
Labor unions Liquor laws Propaganda, German United States Brewers’ Association Anheuser-Busch, Inc Anheuser-Busch, in. History Beer History Beer Industry United States History Busch Family Brewing industry periodicals Labor Unions United States Prohibition Beer United States Brewing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
For legislation related to brewing, use the subject “Brewing industry -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Maximum concurrent users: Unlimited
A multidisciplinary periodical index which provides access to popular press magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals from nearly every academic discipline. Includes content from international publishers, a growing collection of open access journals, and a large historic collection of video recordings from the Associated Press. Content may fluctuate at the publishers’ discretion.
Coverage: 1949+ Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
A comprehensive database that includes articles from hundreds of journals and magazines and covers world religions, Biblical Studies, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations and full-text of articles, essays, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews.
Coverage: Varies Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
HathiTrust is a collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. It is an emerging repository which has collection spans over several centuries, and in hundreds of languages.
Access Information: HathiTrust Digital Library does not permit download or viewing the full text of books that are still under copyright (typically published since 1923). Only materials that are no longer under copyright may be viewed online and/or downloaded. To download a book, please use the Institutional Login button, and login with your ASU User ID & Password.
Coverage: 1770-1995 Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited It contains an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. ASU access includes collection 1-7.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.