ASU Library LibLessons
Overview of Using Library Research Databases
Description: Welcome to the Using Library Research Databases tutorial! The ASU Library provides students and the ASU community with free access to over 5 million books, over 700 databases, over 15 million e-books and more! By providing these resources, the library supports the ASU community with high-quality information for their research. This tutorial will help you learn how to take advantage of these great resources to help you learn and succeed at ASU.
Learning Objectives students will learn in this tutorial:
- Define library research databases and what they include.
- Recall two ways to access the library research databases from the ASU Library homepage.
- Describe the types of databases available to support research and learning at ASU.
- Connect a research topic to the appropriate multidisciplinary, subject or material type database.
- Identify the search strategies to use while navigating library research databases.
- Recognize when and where to get help when stuck on research.
Adding LibLessons to your course
To add to your class, copy and paste the text below into a Page on Canvas.
(Please consult your Instructional Designer for additional assistance with adding LibLessons to your course.)
For this assignment, you will be required to complete the Using Library Research Databases LibLesson, developed by the ASU Library! To complete the assignment, you will need to self-enroll in the course, complete the modules, complete the quiz with a 90% or higher, and submit your badge to the 'Using Library Research Databases Badge Submission' assignment as proof of completion and participation.
Upon completion of this LibLesson, you will be able to:
- Define library research databases and what they include.
- Recall two ways to access the library research databases from the ASU Library homepage.
- Describe the types of databases available to support research and learning at ASU.
- Connect a research topic to the appropriate multidisciplinary, subject or material type database.
- Identify the search strategies to use while navigating library research databases.
- Recognize when and where to get help when stuck on research.
Click here to get started! Self-enroll link: https://canvas.asu.edu/enroll/KJP8N3
Create an assignment for students to submit the badge to your class.
- Go to assignment, Create new.
- Assignment name
- Using Library Research Databases Badge Submission
- Add the following text as the description:
- After reviewing the Using Library Research Databases tutorial in its entirety, you will need to complete a 10-question quiz with a score of at least 90% to receive a passing grade. After you receive a 90% or higher on the quiz, download the badge as directed on the syllabus and submit it.
- Display grade as Complete/Incomplete
- Submission type 'Online'
- Online Entry Options 'File Uploads'
- Save.
After students submit their badge, you will want to verify it is correct. The image below is what the certificate should look like. It includes the badge title, the student's name, their ASUrite email, and the date of completion.
Note: the example is from the LibLesson: APA Citation Style course.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
