Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Chaucer (Geoffrey Chaucer,1340?-1400)

Chaucer Items by Title

French, Leslie and Wertha French, donors. [Canterbury Pilgrims Jug]. Doulton and Company. 1904-1908?
1 jug: pottery, color; 21 cm high.
Note(s): Title supplied by cataloguer./ Manufactured at Burslem to a pattern introduced between July 1904-July 1908 (manufacturer's number D-2188 on bottom). May have been part of the group of "series wares" introduced in 1907, featuring seenes from well-known English literary works/ China mark: Crowned lion standing on a crown above a circle with Royal Doulton England within. This mark used chiefly between 1902-1922 on Burslem products, although found as late as 1927 on some patterns. The words "Canterbury pilgrims" appear below the circle/ Straight-sided jug with one handle, sharply flared lip and base; cream background with yellow, black and dark moss green; multicolored figures. Center front, "The scene of the martyrdom" and architectural vignette; on each side "The Canterbury pilgrims" with a scattered group of 14 riders.
Hayden Library Distinctive Collections Reference SPEC OBJ S-17


Haselwood, David, trans. A.B.C., Called La prière de Nostre Dame; Made, As Some Say, at the Request of Blanche, Duchess of Lancaster, as a Prayer for Her Private Use .... San Francisco: Grabhorn-Hoyem, 1967.
51 unnumbered pages; 18 cm.
Note(s): Chaucer's text is taken from the Kelmscott edition of 'The works of Geoffrey Chaucer' based on ... Skeat's editing of the Ellesmere manuscript. The contemporary translation ... was made by Dave Haselwood ..."
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-2452


Muscatine, Charles. The Book of Geoffrey Chaucer; an Account of the Publication of Geoffrey Chaucer's Works from the Fifteenth Century to Modern Times. San Francisco: Book Club of California, 1963.
3 pages. l., 64 pages. facsims. (part mounted, part col.); 36 cm.
Note(s): Colophon :"450 copies designed and printed by Lawton Kennedy."
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-882


Woodward, Daniel and Martin Stevens, eds. The Canterbury Tales: The New Ellesmere Chaucer Facsimile (of Huntington Library MS EL 26 C 9). Tokyo: Yushodo Co.; San Marion, CA: Huntington Library Press, 1995.
1 portfolio (480 unnumbered pages): facsimiles (color illustrations); 46 cm.
Language Note: English, Middle [1100-1500]; Text in Middle English; colophon in English.
"The New Ellesmere Chaucer facsimile is limited to 250 copies. ... Copies 1-50 sewn and bound in an early fifteenth-century-type binding, oak boards covered by tawed calf, contained in a full-leather box. Copies 51-150 sewn and bound in an early fifteenth-century-type binding, oak boards and quarter brown leather, contained in a quarter-leather and blue, linen-covered box. Copies 151-250 unsewn gatherings, contained in a blue linen-covered box."
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC B-5 [v.1-2]


Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Canterbury Tales of Chaucer. Dublin: George Faulkner, 1742.
2 volumes.
Library has: v.2 only.
Note(s): modernis'd by Mr. Betterton, Mr. Boyle, Mr. Brook, Mr. Cobb, Mr. Dryden, Mr. Grosvenor, Mr. Markland, Mr. Pope, Mr. Ogle,; published by Mr. Ogle. To which is prefixed, The life of Chaucer, written by Mr. Urry.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-993 v.2


Van Wyck, William, trans. Ill. Rockwell Kent. The Canterbury Tales of Geoffrey Chaucer. New York: Covici-Friede, 1930.
2 volumes: illustrations, frontispiece, plates; 39 cm.
Note(s): Paged continuously./ Original and modern versions in parallel columns./ "The book [was] designed and printed by Samuel Aiwaz Jacobs at the Stratford Press, the illustrations reproduced by the Knudsen Process, the paper furnished by Whitehead and Alliger. The edition consists of seventy-five copies on Crane's olde book, numbered 1 to 75; and nine hundred and twenty-four copies on Worthy number two rag, numbered 76 to 999. Each copy is signed by the artist.".
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC B-89


Morris, Richard, ed. Chaucer: The Prologue, the Knightes Tale the Nonne Preestes Tale from the Canterbury Tales . Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1903. Clarendon Press Series.
lxii, 262 pages; 17 cm.
Note(s): with collations and additional notes by Walter W. Skeat.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-8543


Hayward, John. English Poetry, a Catalogue of First & Early Editions of Works of the English Poets from Chaucer to the Present Day. [London]: Cambridge University Press, 1947.
x, 140 pages; 25 cm.
Note(s): exhibited by the National Book League at 7 Albemarle Street, London, 1947.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC BA-368


Huxley, Aldous. Essays New and Old. London: Chatto & Windus, 1926.
viii, 257 pages; 22 cm.
Note(s): Of this edition ... 650 copies have been printed, of which the last 50 are complimentary. This is no. 90 [signed] Aldous Huxley.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC D-3292


Frink, Elizabeth. Etchings Illustrating Chaucer's 'Canterbury Tales'. London: Waddington, 1972.
189 pages [19 leaves of plates]: illustrations; 67 cm.
Note(s): 50 copies lettered and numbered A1-A50 ... 50 copies lettered and numbered B51-B100..
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC A-131


Dryden, John, translator and author. Fables Ancient and Modern. London: Jacob Tonson, 1721.
29 preliminary leaves, 345, [2] pages, frontispiece; 17 cm.
Note(s): translated into verse, from Homer, Ovid, Boccace, and Chaucer: with original poems by Mr. Dryden.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-644


Anonymous. The Floure and the Leafe. Hammersmith: Kelmscott Press, 1896.
4 unnumbered leaves, 47 pages, 1 unnumbered page; 24 cm.
Note(s): "The floure and the leafe" formerly attributed to Chaucer.
See a digitized copy from the Library of Congress.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC PRB-505


Harwood, Edith, ill. The Flower and the Leaf. London: Edward Arnold; New York: Samuel Buckley & Co., 1902.
45 pages: color illustrations; 20 cm.
Note(s): Stamped in blind on cover: Soul is form./ "Printed at the Essex House Press under the care of C.R. Ashbee. The ornamental letters have been drawn and coloured in by Edith Harwood"--Page 45./ "165 copies only, and all on vellum"--Colophon.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-8244


Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Parlement of Foules. Cambridge, MA: Riverside Press, 1904.
xxvii pages, 1 unnumbered page ; 24 cm.
Note(s): Designed by Bruce Rogers; his device appears below colophon./ Colophon reads: The text of this printing of The Parlement of Foules is that of the edition of Chaucer in the British Poets, which is based on the reading of MS. Gg. 4.27, in the Cambridge University Library. Three hundred and twenty-five copies were printed at the Riverside Press in January, Mdcccciv, for Houghton, Mifflin and Company, Boston and New York./ Title printed in red; text printed in red and black; paragraph marks and some initials in red; 2 initials in blue and white with gilt letter forms..
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC D-3423


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ill. Ron King. The Prologue to The Canterbury Tales, 2nd ed. Guildford, Eng.: Circle Press Publications, 1978.
[8], ix-xi, 57, [2] pages : color illustrations ; 40 cm + 1 etching + 10 prints.
English, Middle [1100-1500]
Note(s): This issue includes "a soft-ground etching by Ronald King ... especially drawn and printed by the artist to make up a limited set of 50 Prologues with ten of the original prints, described on the justification page" of the text.--Cf. Folder of etching/ Each print is inserted into a folder containing a specially written poem, or literary comment, related to Chaucer's text.--Cf. Colophon./ Text is that of the 2nd ed., published by Circle Press Publications, 1978./ Version XIV on spine./ "This book [i.e. text] has been hand-set and printed letterpress ... at Seven Corners Press, Guildford and at Charles Mitchell Ltd., Woking ... the prints [i.e text prints] were ... printed at Loddon Displays, Guildford and Pegasus Print & Display, London ... The signed screen-prints were also printed at Circle Press ... and the five lithographs ... printed at Bath Academy of Art."--Colophon.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC B-480


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ill. William Blake and Mary Kuper. The Prologue to the Canterbury Tales of Geoffrey Chaucer. Los Angeles: Plantin Press, 1975.
[4], 35 pages: illustrations ; 40 cm.
Note(s): Edition limited to 115 copies. // With an engraving of the pilgrims in the following sequence: The Reve, Chaucer, Clerk of Oxford, the Cook, the Miller, Wife of Bath, the Merchant, Parish Priest, Serjeant of Law, the Plowman, the Doctor, the Franklin, Two Citizens, the Seaman, the Host, the Sumner, the Steward, the Pardoner, the Monk, the Fryar, a Citizen, the Prioress, the Nun, Three Priests, the Yeoman, the Knight, the Squire.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC B-331


Schoff, Rebecca L. Reformations: Three Medieval Authors in Manuscript and Movable Type . Turnhout: Brepols, 2007. Texts and Transitions, v. 4.
xv, 230 pages: illustrations; 25 cm.
Contents: History of the book and authorship in the Late Middle Ages -- Reading, writing, and printing the Canterbury tales -- Editing the books of Margery Kempe -- Printing, writing, and reading Piers Plowman -- Readers as agents of change?
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC D-4907


Kelman, Janet Harvey. Stories from Chaucer, Told to the Children. London: Jack; New York: E.P. Dutton, 1903?
format.
114 pages: illustrations; 15 cm.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC E-3477


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Trans. George Philip Krapp. Troilus and Cressida. London: Limited Editions Club, 1939.
xxi, 309 pages: 1 illustration; 32 cm.
Note(s): "Fifteen hundred copies have been made ... Printed for George W. Jones ... at the Fanfare Press ... This is number 1038." Signed: George W. Jones.
High Density Storage Collection Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-411


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ed. Thomas Speght. The Vvorkes of Our Ancient and Learned English Poet, Geffrey Chaucer. London: Adam Islip, 1602.
24 unnumbered leaves, 350, 353-376 leaves, 14 unnumbered leaves, 1 unnumbered leaf of plates: illustrations, genealogical table, 1 portrait; 34 cm (folio in 6s).
Language Note: Texts in Middle English; biographical and critical matter in English (Tudor period). Some texts freely translated from Old French and Latin.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-3674


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ed. William Thynne. The Workes of Geffray Chaucer: Newly Printed, with Dyuers Workes Whiche Were Neuer in Print Before, as in the Table More Playnly Dothe Appere. London: Nicholas Hill, ca. 1550.
[8], ccclv, [1] leaves: illustrations; 32 cm. (fol. in 6s).
English, Middle (1100-1500)
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-3671


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ed. Thomas Speght. The Workes of Our Antient and Learned English Poet, Geffrey Chaucer, Newly Printed. London: Adam Islip, 1598.
[29], 394, [14] leaves : ill. (woodcuts), port. (engraving), coats-of-arms (woodcuts), geneal. tables ; 32 cm. (fol.).
Language Note: English; English, Middle (1100-1500)
Note(s): Editor's dedication to Sir Robert Cecil signed: Tho. Speght./ "In this impression you shall find these additions. 1. His portraiture and progenie shewed. 2. His life collected. 3. Arguments to euery booke gathered. 4. Old and obscure words explaned. 5. Authors by him cited, declared. 6. Difficulties opened. 7. Two bookes of his, neuer before printed."/ Signatures: [a]⁶ b-c⁶ [par.]⁴ A-V⁶ 2A-2T⁶ 2V-2X⁸ 2Y⁶ 3A-4A⁶ 4B⁸ (first and last leaves blank)./ "The story of Thebes compiled by Iohn Lidgate ... ": leaves [369]-395.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-3670


Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Works of Geoffrey Chaucer Now Newly Imprinted. London: Basilisk Press, 1975, 1974.
554 pages: illustrations; 43 cm.
Note(s): This facsimile of the Kelmscott Chaucer has been printed ... by the John Roberts Press in Clerkenwell and completed on the 31st day of December, 1974."/ Colophon of original reads: "Here ends the Book of the Works of Geoffrey Chaucer, edited by F.S. Ellis; ornamented with pictures designed by Sir Edward Burne-Jones, and engraved on wood by W.H. Hooper. Printed by me William Morris at the Kelmscott Press, Upper Mall, Hammersmith, in the county of Middlesex. Finished on the 8th day of May, 1896."/ Issued in a case with A Companion volume to the Kelmscott Chaucer. London, 1975.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC PRBF-43


Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Works of Geoffrey Chaucer, Compared with the Former Editions, and Many Valuable Mss. Out of Which, Three Tales Are Added Which Were Never Before Printed; By John Urry, Student of Christ-Church, Oxon. Deceased: Together with a Glossary by a Student of the Same College. London: Bernard Lintot, 1721.
26 p. 1., 626, 81, [1] p. front., illus., port. 41 cm.
Note(s): Title vignette.; The work was left unfinished at Urry's death, and the final revision and completion were intrusted to Timothy Thomas, who wrote the preface and glossary.; The life of Chaucer was originally written by John Dart, but was revised and altered by William Thomas. cf. Brit. mus. Catalogue; Tyrwhitt's edition of the Poetical works of... Chaucer. 1843, p. vii-viii Hammond. Chaucer, a bibliographical manual. 1908.; The Three tales mentioned in the title are The coke's tale of Gamelyn; The merchant's second tale, or The history of Beryn; and The adventure of the pardoner and tapster at the Inn at Canterbury. cf. Pref.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC B-189


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ed. F.S. Ellis. Ill. Sir Edward Burne-Jones and W.H. Hooper. The Works of Geoffrey Chaucer: Now Newly Imprinted. Hammersmith, Middlesex: William Morris at the Kemscott Press, 1896.
[4], ii, [2], 554, [2] pages: illustrations (woodcuts); 44 cm (fol.).
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC B-737


Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Works of Our Ancient, Learned, & Excellent English Poet, Jeffrey Chaucer: As They Have Lately Been Compar'd with the Best Manuscripts, and Several Things Added, Never Before in Print: To Which is Adjoyn'd, The Story of the Siege of Thebes by John Lidgate, Monk of Bury: Together with the Life of Chaucer, Shewing His Countrey, Parentage, Education, Marriage, Children, Revenues, Service, Reward, Friends, Books, Death: Also a Table, Wherein the Old and Obscure Words in Chaucer Are Explained, and Such Words (Which Are Many) That Either Are, By Nature or Derivation, Arabick, Greek, Latine, Italian, French, Dutch, or Saxon, Mark'd with Particular Notes for the Better Understanding Their Original. London: [s.n.], 1687.
[36], 660, [24] pages: illustrations (woodcuts), genealogical tables, 1 portrait (metal cut); 34 cm (fol).
Language Note: English; English, Middle (1100-1500)
Note(s): Editor's dedication to Sir Robert Cecil signed: Tho. Speght.; "The story of Thebes": pages 622-660.; The last 12 leaves contain a glossary and bibliography.; "This is the last black-letter edition and is, except for the then recently discovered conclusions of the Cook's and Squire's Tales, verso [4S2], a reprint of the 1602 edition . without any additions"--Pforzheimer Catalogue.; Signatures: pi² A⁴ a-c⁴ B-4R⁴ 4S².; Leaf c1 missigned "d."; Filmed copy at UMI Tract Supplement reel E2 a fragment, title page only.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC C-3675


Chaucer, Geoffrey. Ed. F.S. Ellis. Ill. Sir Edward Burne-Jones and W.H. Hooper. Works. A Facsimile of the William Morris Kelmscott Chaucer. Cleveland: World Pub. Co., 1958, 1896.
xix, 554 pages: illustrations; 34 cm.
Hayden Library Rare Books and Manuscripts SPEC PRBF-27


The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.