Communication
Journal Indexes for Communication
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides comprehensive indexing to the key journals for all aspects of communications studies. Other databases and indexes organized by more than 150 subjects.
COM Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field, providing comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's scholarship.
Patrons can connect directly to the full text of articles available in the Library's electronic collections or to Interlibrary Loan if the full text is not available.
Other indexes provide access to content related to the area of Communication Studies. Key subject indexes related to Communication Studies include:
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
ABI/Inform
This business databases features important full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Communication students will find this database is most useful for organizational communication topics.
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Science.
An interdisciplinary database that includes nearly 50 full text journals in the area of communication and media studies.
Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.
Since communications touches every discipline, you may find searching specific database related to another field useful (e.g., business databases for consumerism, women's studies/gender databases for sexism in language, or health databases for doctor/patient communication). You can also check the databases (article) pages in the ASU Library guides.
Advanced Research Databases
ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations
This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.
Dissertations and Theses Arizona State University
A searchable database for full text, citations, and abstracts of ASU dissertations.
Dissertations and Theses
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and selected masters' theses accepted for degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions.
SAGE Research Methods Online
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty, and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects, and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines.
Is this article peer-reviewed?
Use Ulrichs Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out
- if an article is from a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal
- if this article (journal) is popular or scholarly
- general information about magazine or journal
This is the symbol that tells you a journal is peer reviewed in Ulrichsweb: 
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
