Communication
Communication databases
Recommended starting points
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)Provides comprehensive indexing to the key journals for all aspects of communications studies. Other databases and indexes organized by more than 150 subjects.
-
ComAbstractsDeveloped by the Communication Institute of Online Scholarship (CIOS), this database provides indexing to core journal literature and books in the fields of communication and journalism.
Additional resources
-
COMINDEXProvides access to the contents of 21 core communication journals. It is a subset of the COMINDEX database.
-
ComAnalyticsComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.).
-
Academic Search Ultimate
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionComprehensive access to full-text business and economics journals, dissertations, working papers, and key periodicals like The Economist and The Wall Street Journal, along with detailed company and industry reports
-
Access World News
Full-text content from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and business magazines, providing diverse viewpoints on local and global issues.
-
JSTORAccess millions of articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals; an essential resource for research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes AI assistant:
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsIndexes books, conferences, dissertations, theses, and scholarly journals on the nature and use of language. Covers linguistics (nature and structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and pathology of speech, language, and hearing.
-
ProQuest News & NewspapersProQuest news databases, including historical and current newspapers, alternative press, and historical Black newspapers.
-
SAGE Journals
Includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
-
Sociological AbstractsCovers journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers, book reviews related theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Topics include sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
-
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news, recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The Archive's collection includes news coverage of significant events broadcast outside the scope of the regular evening news programs.
Advanced research databases
-
ASU Electronic Thesis and Dissertations in the ASU RepositoryThis collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media. In addition to the electronic theses found in the ASU Digital Repository, ASU Theses and Dissertations can be found in the ASU Library Catalog.
-
Dissertations & Theses @ Arizona State University
Searchable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations. Index only: 1954-1979 (index only); Full text: 1979-present.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global
A collection of full-text dissertations and theses featuring millions of searchable citations from 1861 to present. It includes over a million downloadable PDFs, full text for most entries since 1997, and comprehensive coverage of older works, including PQDT UK & Ireland content.
-
SAGE Research Methods
Offers tools, reference works, and case studies to support every step of the research process across a range of disciplines and methodologies.
Is this article peer-reviewed?
-
Ulrichsweb
Comprehensive details on over 300,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, e-journals, magazines, and newspapers. Entries feature ISSN, publisher, language, subject, indexing coverage, full-text availability, and librarian reviews.
Use Ulrichs Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out
- if an article is from a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal
- if this article (journal) is popular or scholarly
- general information about magazine or journal
This is the symbol that tells you a journal is peer reviewed in Ulrichsweb: 
The image shows a table with a white background containing details about a publication. The table is structured with two columns; the left column lists categories, and the right column provides corresponding information. At the top is a green header labeled "Basic Description." Categories include "Title," "ISSN," "Publisher," "Country," and others. Some entries, such as "Refereed" and "Content Type," have red arrows pointing at them. The "Language of Text" has an icon next to it.