Dance Resources
Dance Reference
- The Dancer's Survival Manual byCall number: GV1597 .H67 1987ISBN: 0060961996Publication date: 1987-10-01
- Dictionary of Kinetography Laban byCall number: GV1587 .K57 1979ISBN: 071210416xPublication date: 1976-01-01
International Dictionary of Ballet by
The International Dictionary of Ballet has as its subject all of ballet, from its beginnings in the Renaissance to contemporary dance.
ISBN: 1558620842Publication date: 1993-09-01
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by
Offering an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.
ISBN: 1558623590Publication date: 1998-05-01
International Encyclopedia of Dance by
Since its 1998 publication, the International Encyclopedia of Dance has been the definitive source on this expressive art form, documenting all types of dance around the world and throughout history. Now available in an affordable, attractive paperback edition, this indispensable referencemakes a stunning addition to the small library.In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, musicand costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the Encyclopedia is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it is essential for academic and public libraries, and every arts and humanities aficionado.
ISBN: 0195173694Publication date: 2004-12-23
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by
Over the last twenty years the boundaries of dance have been radically redrawn. There has been an explosion of new activity within traditional forms like ballet, a stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers, and there is a growing appreciation in the West ofdance forms from the rest of the world. Fans today are likely to attend performances in classical ballet, Spanish flamenco, Indian Bharata Natyam, Japanese Butoh, jazz, modern and post-modern dance. In classical ballet they may see companies as varied as the New York City Ballet, Bolshoi, or ParisOpera. In modern dance they may see work that stems from the Graham or the Cunningham schools of movement; while in post-modern dance they may be watching choreographers who mix influences as varied as folk dance, T'ai Chi, Balanchine, and Mary Wigman, or who may be practitioners of Eurocrash,minimalism, contact improvisation or release.This new dictionary by two leading and authoritative writers on dance will provide the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse modern dance scene. With an emphasis on performance the dance we see in theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysis on a wide range ofsubjects from dancers and choreographers to dance styles and technical terms.
ISBN: 0198601069Publication date: 2000-12-07
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
For the sixth edition of this classic dictionary, the text has been thoroughly revised and updated. With over 10,000 entries, the Oxford Dictionary of Music (previously the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music) offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras,including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history. Over 250 new entries have been added to this edition to expand coverage of popular music, ethnomusicology, modern and contemporary composers, music analysis, and recordingtechnology. Existing entries have been expanded where necessary to include more coverage of the reception of major works, and to include key new works and categories, such as multimedia.Entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website, expanding the scope of the dictionary. The dictionary now also includes two useful appendices, one listing French, German, and Italian musical terms with their English translations, and an abbreviations list forletters commonly used in musical scores and musical writing.The Oxford Dictionary of Music is the most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of musical terms available and an essential point of reference for music students, teachers, lecturers, professional musicians, as well as music enthusiasts.
ISBN: 0199578109Publication date: 2012-10-01
The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater by
Aficionados of music, dance, opera and musical theatre will relish this volume featuring over 200 articles showcasing composers, singers, musicians, dancers and choreographers across eras and styles. Read about Hildegard of Bingen, whose Symphonia expressed both spiritual and physical desire for the Virgin Mary, and George Frideric Handel, who not only created roles for castrati but was behind the Venetian opera's preoccupations with gender ambiguity. Discover Alban Berg's Lulu, opera's first openly lesbian character. And don't forget Kiss Me Kate, written by openly gay Cole Porter.
ISBN: 9781573441988Publication date: 2004-11-24
Writing about Dance by
Writing About Dance guides students through various processes of writing about dance, from the informal (journal writing and free writing) to the formal (critiques, essays, and research papers). When students learn both practical and artistic aspects of writing, they become better critical thinkers and writers as they deepen their understanding of dance technique, dance creativity, and dance as an art form. This book includes * 14 teacher-tested writing exercises, ranging from reflection to the creative process to writing about dance, that are appropriate for all dance classes; * rubrics for evaluating critiques, essays, and research papers; * an appendix that helps students prepare to write dance critiques; and * easy-to-use checklists to facilitate writing assignments and help students organize their thoughts and address aspects of each type of dance writing.
ISBN: 9780736076104Publication date: 2010-01-11
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects, and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of cross-curricular nonfiction titles, including encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized references for multidisciplinary research.
Dance Specific Databases
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to performances, documentaries, and instructional videos featuring influential dance companies and performers from the 20th century to today, covering diverse styles such as ballet, modern, and jazz, as well as experimental dance.
- Dance from Alexander StreetDance from Alexander Street contains hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
- Herberger Institute School of Dance Video ArchivesThe School of Dance Video Archive is a collection of dance performances from both faculty and students. The collection includes performances recorded from 1978 to 2012. Videos include student thesis dance MFA performances.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications,language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance™ with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It is an index to journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. It is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research.
- OntheBoards.TV This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
OntheBoards.tv is an on-demand website for HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming. It includes full-length performances of plays and dance, produced at an experimental theater in Seattle, Washington. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1864+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) includes both abstracts/indexes and full text publications, and is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community. - Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Physical Education Index features a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, health education, physical therapy, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
