Social Science Data Resources

Data.census.gov provides access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau and has been designed to simplify access to the Bureau’s many data products.

iPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date and very large archive of US public opinion information. It is organized at the question level, and has the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys. It also includes on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys

Social Explorer provides access to census demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present. Users can create maps and reports to visualize and analyze demography and social change throughout history. Datasets are available at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. A collection of interactive demographic maps can be viewed, queried, and exported as images or PowerPoint presentations.

Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States and its people.

ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. It Includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.

Accesses the data services provided by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) through a single entry point. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.